UFC 212: Holloway defeats Aldo and becomes a new featherweight champion
UFC 212: Max Holloway becomes a new UFC Featherweight champion

The 12-fight bill at UFC 212: Aldo vs Holloway was held on Saturday June 3 at the Jeunesse Arena in Rio de Janeiro. The five-fight main card aired live on Pay-Per-view, following the four-fight prelims on FS1 and three bouts streamed on UFC Fight Pass. UFC featherweight championship unification was on the line.

In the main event a defending UFC featherweight champion Jose Aldo (26-2-0) of Brazil squared off against No.1 ranked Max Holloway (17-3-0) of the US. The latter was also an interim champion. Scheduled for five rounds encounter was a championship unification.

The bout ended prior the final bell. Holloway defeated Aldo by the third-round TKO and as a result was crowned as a new undisputed UFC featherweight champion.

The co-main event was a woman’s strawweight contest. A former title challenger and ranked No.1 Claudia Gadelha of Brazil faced off ranked No.2 Karolina Kowalkiewicz of Poland. The bout ended in the third round. The representative of the country-host earned a victory via submission, rare naked choke.

Also on the main card Vitor Belfort earned a unanimous decision against Nate Marquardt. As well, Paulo Borrachinha defeated Oluwale Bamgbose by TKO in Round 2. Similarly by the second-round TKO Yancy Mederios claimed a victory against Erick Silva.

A complete UFC 212 Results can be found below

Main card on Pay-Per-View
Max Holloway def. Jose Aldo by TKO R3 (4:13)
Claudia Gadelha def. Karolina Kowalkiewicz by submission (RNC) (R1, 3:03)
Vitor Belfort def. Nate Marquardt by unanimous decision
Paulo Borrachinha def. Oluwale Bamgbose by TKO R2 (1:06)
Yancy Medeiros def. Erick Silva by TKO R2  (2:01)

Prelims on FS1
Raphael Assuncao def. Marlon Moraes by split decision
Antonio Carlos Junior def. Eric Spicely via submission (RNC) (R2, 3:49)
Matthew Lopez def. Johnny Eduardo by TKO R1 (2:57)
Brian Kelleher def. Iuri Alcantara by submission (guillotine) (R1, 1:48)

Early Prelims on UFC Fight Pass
Viviane Pereira def. Jamie Moyle by unanimous decision (29-28, 30-27 x2)
Luan Chagas def. Jim Wallhead by submission (RNC) (2nd, 4:48)
Deiveson Figueiredo def. Marco Beltran by TKO R2 (5:00)