Fight Night Saint Tropez results: Lidon scores head kick KO, defends WKN title


Fight Night Saint Tropez 5: Yohan Lidon KO’s Florian Kroger, Gregory Tony TKO’s Bob Sapp

The annual VIP event Fight Night Saint Tropez marked its fifth anniversary on Friday August 4. The glamorous gala held at La Citadel aired on SFR Sport 5. The happening returned Kickboxing World Championship to the city of “Rich and Famous”. The program comprised a seven-fight international bill, featuring some of the most notable fighters of today.

The highlight of the show was the WKN World super middleweight championship. Making the third title defense, the reigning champion out of France Yohan Lidon faced off the German contender Florian Kroger. The scheduled for five rounds contest ended prior the final bell. In the fourth round the Frenchman sent his opponent to the canvas with a spectacular kick to the head. The knockout resembles the 2016 victory of Lidon against Karapet Karapetyan, when he scored l’Equipe 21 KO of the year, initially earning the WKN belt.

A super heavyweight encounter between French champion Gregory Tony and American Bob Sapp ended in the first round. An anticipated fight in follow up to the brawl at the weigh-in ceremony didn’t meet the expectations. Tony threw left hand that led to Sapp’s appearance on the floor. The referee gave him an eight count, but the “The Beast” advised he was not going to continue.

Also on the night French featherweight Mallaury Kalachnikoff claimed a unanimous decision against Serbian Marina Spasic. Such result is her second victory, following the eight-woman tournament Girl Power 2 Stara Zagora in February, when the pair battled out in the semi-final.

Complete results can be found below

Super middleweight Yohan Lidon def. Florian Kroger via fourth-round KO (Head kick)
Super heavyweight Gregory Tony def. Bob Sapp via first-round TKO
Heavyweight Stephane Susperregui def. Danyo Ilunga via unanimous decision
Featherweight Mallaury Kalachnikoff def. Marina Spasic via unanimous decision
Heavyweight Mikhail Chalykh def. Filip Verliden via unanimous decision
Super heavyweight Daniel Sam def. Tomas Mozny via unanimous decision
Welterweight Umar Semata def. Evgeny Kuravskoi via unanimous decision