Kickboxing Glory 44 Chicago results
Tiffany van Soest / Pic: Glory

Kickboxing promotion Glory 44 was held on Friday August 25 at Sears Centre Arena in Chicago. The event produced an eleven-fight bill with two championship bouts featured on the card. The program comprised two chapters with Glory 44 Chicago live on ESPN 3, that followed Glory 44 Super Fight Series streamed on UFC Fight Pass.

In the main event at Glory 44 Chicago the defending welterweight champion out of France Cedric Doumbe faced Dutch Murthel Groenhart. The five-round bout went the distance with the verdict left in hands of the judges. Groenhart was announced as a winner by split decision, and as a result became a new title holder.

Armenian-Belgian Harut Grigorian took the four-man welterweight tournament. In the opening round he scored a unanimous decision against French Karim Benmansour, as well as similarly defeated also French Antoine Pinto in the final.

In the main event at Glory 44 Super Fight Series American Tiffany van Soest fought in defense of her super bantamweight title against Meryem Uslu of Germany. The latter took the bout on a short notice, replacing Turkish Funda Alkayis. Scheduled for five rounds bout ended in the fourth when the referee stopped the contest at 0:36, consequently proclaiming the representative of the country-host as the winner by TKO.

Also on the card Poland’s heavyweight Michal Turynski took a split decision against Catalin Morosanu of Romania. Complete Glory 44 results can be found below.

Glory 44 Chicago
Murthel Groenhart def. Cedric Doumbe via split decision (48-47, 47-48, 49-46)
Harut Grigorian def. Antoine Pinto via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 30-27)
Richard Abraham def. Daniel Morales via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-26, 30-26)
Antoine Pinto def. Zach Bunnel via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 30-27)
Harut Grigorian def. Karim Benmansour via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28)

Glory 44 Super Fight Series
Tiffany van Soest def. Meryem Uslu via fourth-round TKO (0:36, Referee stoppage)
Michal Turynski def. Catalin Morosanu via split decision (30-27, 28-29, 30-27)
Dustin Jacoby def. Sean Choice via first-round TKO (2:18, Referee stoppage)
Robert Thomas def. Warren Thompson via third-round KO (2:36, Punch)
Nate Richardson def. Rafal Dudek via unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 29-28)
Victor Pinto def. Adrian Maxim via split decision (29-28, 27-30, 29-28)