Simply the Best Kickboxing, series 17 Farciennes
Simply the Best Kickboxing, series 17, Farciennes

Kickboxing World Championship returns to Belgium on Sunday November 26. Held at Hall Omnisport de Farciennes Simply the Best 17 is the fourth series produced in the country.

The event promoted by Osman Yigin in terms of “Nuit des Titans” is expected to feature the leading Belgian kickboxers up against international opponents. Three WKN titles will be challenged on the night.

To date the organization announced two bouts featured on the card. In the main-event Sardinia’s Lorenzo Piras (21-5-0, 10 KOs) defends his World Kickboxing Network lightweight title against the representative of the country-host Allan Gozdzicki (45-20-3, 13 KOs). The bout is also a rematch following their original encounter in April on Sardinia, where the local fighter took the decision.

Belgian Tarik Mahillon faces Samuel Hadzima of Slovakia, battling out in the co-main event. The pair challenges for WKN International lightweight belt.

No other match ups have been formally announced to date. Nevertheless according to the official poster revealed on Monday, the roster of the upcoming show also includes such Belgian fighters as Ashley Gilson, Gaetano Pirrello, Xavier Lejour, Ougo Huet and Nicolas Di Franco.

Featherweight Ashley Gilson is a regular competitor at Girl Power Kickboxing. She has also twice appeared in the world series, battling out at STB 8 Borlange in Sweden, as well as back in Farciennes at STB 9.

Also super lightweight Xavier Lejour returns to action. His resume includes the battles in Charleroi, Farciennes and Poprad.

In addition, super flyweight Ougo Huet, as well as the featherweight Mixed Martial Artist Gaetano Pirrello and the lightweight MMA fighter Nicolas Di Franco make their Simply the Best debut.

Other match up are expected to be announced in the coming weeks. The current lineup can be found below.

STB 17 Farciennes

Lightweight Lorenzo Piras (c) vs. Allan Gozdzicki
Lightweight Tarik Mahillon vs. Samuel Hadzima
Featherweight Ashley Gilson vs. TBA
Super lightweight Xavier Lejour vs. TBA
Super flyweight Ougo Huet vs. TBA

Featherweight Gaetano Pirrello vs. TBA
Lightweight Nicolas Di Franco vs. TBA