UFC 217 results: St-Pierre defeats Bisping, wins middleweight title


UFC 217: Dillashaw reclaims title, Namajunas new champion

UFC 217 took place at Madison Square Garden on Sunday November 5. The event marked the return of MMA great out of Canada Georges St-Pierre, who went up against the defending middleweight champion out of England Michael Bisping.

The scheduled for five rounds championship bout ended prior the final bell. It was all over in the third round, with GSP claiming the victory by submission in the third round. As a result he became a new champion in the division, and is expected to face the interim champion Australian Robert Whittaker in the championship unification next year.

In the co-main event TJ Dillashaw reclaimed bantamweight title, scoring the second round TKO victory over Cody Garbrandt, who was defending the belt. In addition, Rose Namajunas became a new strawweight champion when she caused another upset, by taking the first-round stoppage victory over Joanna Jedrzejczyk, who aspired to break Ronda Rousey’s record, by making the seventh consecutive title defense.

Also on the main card Stephen Thompson earned a unanimous decision against Jorge Masvidal, and Paulo Costa stopped Johny Hendricks in the second round. The complete UFC 217 results can be found below.

UFC 217 results

Main card on Pay-Per-View
Middleweight Georges St-Pierre def. Michael Bisping via submission (rear-naked choke) (R3, 4:23)
Bantamweight TJ Dillashaw def. Cody Garbrandt via second-round TKO (2:41)
Strawweight Rose Namajunas def. Joanna Jedrzejczyk via first-round TKO (3:03)
Welterweight Stephen Thompson def. Jorge Masvidal via unanimous decision
Middleweight Paulo Costa def. Johny Hendricks via second-round TKO (1:23)

Preliminary Card on Fox Sports 1
Lightweight James Vick def. Joseph Duffy via second-round TKO (4:59)
Heavyweight Mark Godbeer def. Walt Harris via first-round DQ (4:29)
Light heavyweight Ovince Saint Preux def. Corey Anderson via third-round KO (1:25)
Welterweight Randy Brown def. Mickey Gall via unanimous decision (29-28 x2, 29-27)

Preliminary card on UFC Fight Pass
Heavyweight Curtis Blaydes def. Aleksei Oleinik via second-round TKO (1:56)
Bantamweight Ricardo Ramos def. Aiemann Zahabi def. via third-round TKO (1:58)