Rico Verhoeven defeats Jamal Ben Saddik at Glory Redemption
Rico Verhoeven / Pic: via Facebook

Rico Verhoeven defends heavyweight title

Glory Kickboxing returned to Holland with a fourteen-fight bill held last night, December 9, in Rotterdam. The event comprised three chapters, featuring fourteen bouts with two titles on the line.

In the main event at Glory: Redemption live on UFC Pay-Per-View Rico Verhoeven went up against Jamal Ben Saddik in defense of his heavyweight title. The scheduled for five rounds bout didn’t go the distance. It was all over in the final round when the referee stopped the contest at 1 minute and 10 seconds, consequently proclaiming the defending champion as the winner by TKO. In addition Verhoeven took a revenge over Ben Saddik, after their initial encounter in 2011.

Also on the card Danyo Ilunga stopped Michael Duut in the third round with punches. Bailey Sugden scored a unanimous decision against Chenglong Zhang. In addition, Petchpanomrung Kiatmookao knocked out Zakaria Zouggary in the third round with head kick.

In the main event of Glory 49 Super Fight Series Alex Pereira faced Yousri Belgaouri, defending middleweight title. The championship also ended prior the final bell, with Pereira retaining the title, taking the third round TKO victory.

Stoyan Koprivlenski earned a unanimous decision against Tyjani Beztati and KO’ed Maykol Yurk, winning lightweight tournament on the Glory 49 Rotterdam card. The complete results can be found below.

Fight Results

Glory: Redemption
Heavyweight Rico Verhoeven def. Jamal Ben Saddik via fifth-round TKO
Light Heavyweight Danyo Ilunga def. Michael Duut via third-round KO
Featherweight Bailey Sugden def. Chenglong Zhang via unanimous decision
Featherweight Petchpanomrung Kiatmookao def. Zakaria Zouggary via third-round KO

Glory 49 Super Fight Series
Middleweight Alex Pereira def. Yousri Belgaouri via third-round TKO
Welterweight Alim Nabiev def. Nieky Holzken via unanimous decision
Heavyweight D’Angelo Marshall def. Ismael Londt via unanimous decision
Heavyweight Anderson Silva def. Brian Douwes via unanimous decision
Welterweight Eyevan Danenberg def. Jamie Bates via unanimous decision

Glory 49 Rotterdam
Lightweight Stoyan Koprivlenski def. Tyjani Beztati via unanimous decision
Lightweight Christian Baya def. Samo Petje via first-round TKO
Welterweight Omar Moreno def. Anying Wang via unanimous decision
Lightweight Stoyan Koprivlenski def. Maykol Yurk via first-round KO
Lightweight Tyjani Beztati def. Niclas Larsen via unanimous decision