UFC 221 Israel Adesanya vs Rob Wilkinson
Israel Adesanya vs Rob Wilkinson / Pic: Emanuel Rudnicki

UFC 221 was held this past Sunday (Feb. 11) at Perth Arena. The event was the debut of Ultimate Fighting Championship in Western Australia, featuring a 12-fight bill.

In the main event Yoel Romero knocked out Luke Rockhold in the third round. In the co-main event Curtis Blaydes scored a unanimous decision against Mark Hunt. The main event bouts photo report can be found here.

Also on the main card live on Pay-Per-View Tai Tuivasa took the first-round stoppage victory against Cyril Asker. Jake Matthews earned a unanimous decision against Li Jingliang. Tyson Pedro submitted Saparbel Safarov in the first round.

The preliminary card comprised four bouts, following the three-fight early prelims card on UFC Fight Pass. The photo report can be found below.

FIGHTMAG reported live from Perth Arena. The complete UFC 221 results can be found below.

UFC 221 results

Main card
Yoel Romero def. Luke Rockhold via third-round KO (R3, 1.48)
Curtis Blaydes def. Mark Hunt via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-26, 29-27)
Tai Tuivasa def. Cyril Asker via first-round TKO (R1, 2.18)
Jake Matthews def. Li Jingliang via unanimous decision (29-28, 39-26, 30-26)
Tyson Pedro def. Saparbek Safarov via first-round submission (R1, 3.54, Kimura)

Preliminary Card
Dong Hyun Kim def. Damien Brown via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)
Israel Adesanya def. Rob Wilkinson via second-round TKO (R2, 3.37)
Alexander Volkanovski def. Jeremy Kennedy via second-round TKO (R2, 4.55)
Jussier Formiga def. Ben Nguyen via third-round submission (R3, 1.43, RNC)

Early Prelims
Ross Pearson def. Mizuto Hirota via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 29-28)
Jose Quinonez def. Teruto Ishihara via unanimous decision 30-27, 29-(26, 29-28)
Luke Jumeau def. Daichi Abe via unanimous decision (29-27, 28-27, 29-28)


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here