UFC 225: Whittaker retains middleweight title
UFC 225: Robert Whittaker retains middleweight title / Pic: UFC via Twitter

UFC 225: Robert Whittaker retains middleweight title

UFC 225 is in the books.The event was held at the United Center in Chicago, IL on June 10 (June 9 in the US) featuring 13 bouts with two titles contested on the top of the fight bill.

In the main event the defending UFC Middleweight champion Robert Whittaker faced Yoel Romero for the second time. The scheduled for five rounds championship bout went the distance.

The split decision went in favor of the defending champion, who consequently retained the belt. In addition, Whittaker took the second win against Romero.

In the co-main Rafael Dos Anjos and Colby Covington battled out for UFC Welterweight interim title. The bout also went the distance, with the latter taking the belt via a unanimous decision.

Also on the main card Holly Holm scored a unanimous decision against Megan Anderson at women’s featherweight, and Tai Tuivasa similarly defeated heavyweight veteran Andrei Arlovski.

In addition, Mike Jackson took a unanimous decision against “CM Punk” at welterweight. The complete UFC 225 results can be found below.

Main card
Robert Whittaker (c) def. Yoel Romero via split decision (48-47, 47-48, 48-47)
Colby Covington def. Rafael dos Anjos via unanimous decision (49-46, 48-47 x)
Holly Holm def. Megan Anderson via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-26 x2)
Tai Tuivasa def. Andrei Arlovski Decision via unanimous decision (29-28 x3)
Mike Jackson def. CM Punk Decision via unanimous decision (30-26 x3)

Preliminary card
Curtis Blaydes def. Alistair Overeem via third-round TKO (elbows, 2:56)
Claudia Gadelha def. Carla Esparza via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)
Mirsad Bektic def. Ricardo Lamas via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 30-27)
Chris de la Rocha def. Rashad Coulter via second-round TKO (punches, 3:53)

Early prelims
Anthony Smith def. Rashad Evans via first-round KO (knee, 0:53)
Sergio Pettis def. Joseph Benavidez via split decision (28-29, 29-28, 30-27)
Charles Oliveira def, Clay Guida via first-round submission (guillotine choke, 2:18)
Dan Ige def. Mike Santiago via first-round (punches, 0:50)