UFC 228: Tyron Woodley vs. Darren Till
UFC 228: Tyron Woodley vs. Darren Till

UFC 228 takes place at American Airlines Center in Dallas, Texas on September 9 (Sept. 8 in the US). The event is headlined by the defending welterweight champion Tyron Woodley up against Darren Till, the promotion announced on Wednesday.

Woodley won the belt in July 2016 when he scored the first-round knockout win against Robbie Lawler. He retained the title going the distance with Stephen Thompson, as well as made two successful defenses against the latter and Demian Maia.

Till is undefeated in all of his 17 MMA outings. He is coming off a decision win against Thompson earned in May.

“Back in action for the first time since defeating Demian Maia in July 2017, Woodley will look to follow up that win and victories over the likes of Stephen Thompson, Robbie Lawler and Kelvin Gastelum with a signature performance against Liverpool’s Till, whose rapid rise to the top of the 170-pound weight class culminates in what promises to be a title fight to remember,” stated in the announcement.

Last month Colby Covington won the interim welterweight belt scoring a decision against Rafael Dos Anjos. He was expected to face Woodley in the championship unification, however the bout appears to be off. “Chaos” is reportedly unable to compete in September and is expected to be potentially stripped off the interim title.

The co-main event at UFC 226 features the defending women’s flyweight champion Nicco Montano up against the former bantamweight title challenger Valentina Shevchenko. The current lineup can be found below.

UFC 228 fight card

Welterweight Tyron Woodley (c) vs. Darren Till
Women’s Flyweight Nicco Montano (c) vs. Valentina Shevchenko
Women’s Strawweight Jessica Andrade vs. Karolina Kowalkiewicz
Featherweight Yair Rodriguez vs. Zabit Magomedsharipov
Bantamweight Aljamain Sterling vs. Cody Stamann
Women’s Strawweight Carla Esparza vs. Tatiana Suarez
Bantamweight Jimmie Rivera vs. John Dodson
Flyweight Ryan Benoit vs. Roberto Sanchez
Middleweight Charles Byrd vs. Darren Stewart
Welterweight Geoff Neal vs. Frank Camacho
Lightweight Jim Miller vs. Alex White