Artem Vakhitov retains light heavyweight title at GLORY 56 Denver
Artem Vakhitov / Pic: via Facebook

GLORY 56 Denver: Jady Menezes new SBW champion

Kickboxing event GLORY 56 was held at the 1stBank Center in Broomfield, Colo. on August 11 (Aug. 10 in the US). The fight card featured two championship bouts as well as a series of international contests.

In the main event the defending light heavyweight champion Artem Vakhitov faced Danyo Ilunga. The scheduled for five rounds championship bout went the distance. Vakhitov retained the belt scoring a unanimous decision, as well as the second win against Ilunga.

In the co-main event the defending super bantamweight champion Anissa Meksen faced Jady Menezes. The women’s contest ended in favor of the latter who took a split decision, consequently becoming a new champion in the division.

The fight card also included a grudge match between Jason Wilnis and Simon Marcus. After three rounds of action a split decision went in favor of the latter. The complete results can be found below.

GLORY 56 Denver
Artem Vakhitov def. Danyo Ilunga via unanimous decision (49-46, 48-47 x2)
Jady Menezes def. Anissa Meksen via split decision (48-47, 45-50, 48-47)
Serhiy Adamchuk def. Anvar Boynazarov via unanimous decision (29-28, 30-27 x2)
Massaro Glunder def. Quade Taranaki via unanimous decision (30-24×3)

GLORY 56 Super Fight Series
Simon Marcus def. Jason Wilnis via split decision (29-28 x2, 30-27)
D’Angelo Marshall def. Antonio Dvorak via first-round TKO (Punches, 2:14)
Justin Houghton def. Troy Sheridan via unanimous decision (29-27 x2, 30-26)
Myron Dennis def. Steven Paprocki via first-round TKO (Three knockdown rule, 1:49)
Chris Camozzi def. John King via second-round TKO (Strikes, 2:48)
Ryot Waller def. Zack Wells via third-round KO (0:57)

GLORY 56 Prelims
Lorawn-T Nelson def. Vince McGuinness via unanimous decision (30-26 x3)
Sean Choice def. Thomas Diagne via split decision (30-27, 28-29 x2)
Houssam el Kasri def. Ben Acosta via first-round TKO (Three knockdown rule, 2:47)
Charles Rodriguez def. Justin Moss via unanimous decision (30-26 x3)