UFC 230 results: Cormier submits Lewis, retains Heavyweight title

Daniel Cormier defeats Derrick Lewis at UFC 230
UFC 230 results: Daniel Cormier submits Derrick Lewis

UFC 230 was held at Madison Square Garden in New York City on Sunday November 4 (AEDT). MMA event featured twelve bouts with heavyweight title contested in the headliner of the show.

Two-division champion Daniel Cormier topped the fight-bill making the first defense of his heavyweight title against Derrick Lewis. The scheduled for five rounds championship bout ended prior the final horn. “DC” submitted his opponent in Round 2 (RNC), consequently retaining the belt.

Cormier is expected to vacate his light heavyweight title when Jon Jones faces Alexander Gustafsson contesting for the belt at UFC 232 on December 30 (AEST).

The UFC 230 PPV card also included a four-fight middleweight lineup. Ronaldo Souza stopped Chris Weidman in the third round with punches. Jared Cannonier scored the second-round TKO win against David Branch also with punches.

In addition, Karl Roberson earned a unanimous decision against Jack Marshman, and Israel Adesanya claimed the first-round TKO win against Derek Brunson with knees and punches.

The main card followed a four-fight preliminary card. The action commenced with the early prelims card which featured three bouts. Bantamweight bout between Montel Jackson and Brian Kelleher was cancelled “due to illness” of the latter, UFC stated. The complete fight results can be found below.

UFC 230: Cormier vs. Lewis results

Main card
Daniel Cormier (c) def. Derrick Lewis via submission (rear-naked choke, R2 at 2:14)
Ronaldo Souza def. Chris Weidman via TKO (punches, R3 at 2:46
Jared Cannonier def. David Branch via TKO (punches, R2 at 0:39 )
Karl Roberson def. Jack Marshman via unanimous decision (30-26 x2, 30-27)
Israel Adesanya def. Derek Brunson via TKO (knees and punches, R1 at 4:51)

Preliminary Card
Jordan Rinaldi def. Jason Knight via unanimous decision (30-27, 30-25, 30-26)
Sijara Eubanks def. Roxanne Modafferi via unanimous decision (30-27 x3)
Sheymon Moraes def. Julio Arce via split decision (28-29, 29-28, 30-26)
Lyman Good def. Ben Saunders via KO (punches, R1 at 1:32)

Early prelims
Matt Frevola vs. Lando Vannata ends in majority draw (29-28, 28-28 x2)
Shane Burgos def. Kurt Holobaugh via submission (armbar, R1 at 2:11)
Marcos Rogerio de Lima def. Adam Wieczorek via unanimous decision (30-27 x3)