Bellator Hawaii
Bellator Hawaii: Brent Primus defends lightweight title against Michael Chandler / Pic: Facebook

Bellator and USO Present: Salute the Troops

The lightweight championship tops the fight-bill on December 15 (AEDT) in Hawaii, where Bellator and USO Present: Salute the Troops. The contest features the defending champion Brent Primus up against two-time former titlist Michael Chandler. In addition, the pair meets for the second time.

“Bellator’s special event honoring the brave men and women of the U.S. Armed Forces has an additional global broadcast partner. American Forces Network will simulcast Bellator and USO Present: Salute the Troops on December 14 at 10 p.m. ET/PT (Dec. 15 AEDT) to the approximately 475,000 US Service members, DoD Civilians, and their families deployed around the world in 22 time zones, 168 countries, and aboard nearly 200 ships at sea,” the promotion announced via a press release sent out Tuesday. The event “will also air on Paramount Network, as well as MTV2, and on Bellator’s new global distribution partner, DAZN.”

Bellator and the USO will also host a series of events at a number of military bases in Hawaii leading up to the big fight weekend.

The co-main event features a previously announced heavyweight battle between Frank Mir and Javy Ayala. In addition, several bouts have been recently added to the card.

“This unforgettable night will be part of a historic weekend culminating with Bellator Hawaii on December 15 (Dec. 16 AEDT), airing exclusively on DAZN. This highly-anticipated fight card includes Bellator’s inaugural women’s flyweight champ Ilima-Lei Macfarlane defending her title against Valerie Letourneau, Lyoto Machida making his Bellator debut against former champ Rafael Carvalho, and Neiman Gracie taking on Ed Ruth in an opening round matchup in the Bellator Welterweight World Grand Prix.”

The updated fight card for Bellator and USO Present: Salute the Troops can be found below.

Lightweight Brent Primus vs. Michael Chandler
Heavyweight Frank Mir vs. Javy Ayala
Featherweight Derek Campos vs. Sam Sicilia
Women’s Flyweight Alejandra Lara vs. Juliana Velasquez

Preliminary card
Welterweight Robson Gracie Jr. vs. Brysen Bolohao
Lightweight Brandon Pieper vs. Chris Avila
Featherweight Toby Misech vs. Edward Thommes