UFC 232 results: Jon Jones reclaims LHW title, Amanda Nunes double-champ

UFC 232: Jones vs. Gustafsson 2 results

UFC 232 took place at The Forum in Inglewood, CA. on Dec 30 (AEDT). Featuring two championship bouts, MMA show was the final PPV event produced by the Ultimate Fighting Championship this year.


Top of the fight-bill was a contest for UFC Light Heavyweight title between the former champion Jon Jones and Alexander Gustafsson. Daniel Cormier, who had reigned as the king of the division since May 2015, relinquished the strap a day before the event.

The scheduled for five rounds championship bout between Jones and Gustafsson ended prior the final horn. “Bones” stopped his opponent in the third round with punches, consequently taking the belt. In addition, it was his second win against the latter after their encounter in 2013, when he claimed a five-round unanimous decision.

The co-main at UFC 232 featured the defending women’s featherweight champion Cris Cyborg up against the current women’s bantamweight titlehoder Amanda Nunes. As well as the headline-bout, women’s MMA clash didn’t go the distance.

Nunes knocked Cyborg out in 51 seconds with right over hand. As a result she became a new champion in the division, adding featherweight belt to her collection. Furthermore, she became the first woman to hold UFC titles in two different weight classes simultaneously.

Also on the main card welterweight Michael Chiesa submitted Carlos Condit in the second round, and light heavyweight Corey Anderson earned a unanimous decision against Ilir Latifi. In addition welterweight Alexander Volkanovski TKO’d Chad Mendes in the second round with punches. The complete fight results from UFC 232 can be found below.

UFC 232 results

Main Card
Jon Jones def. Alexander Gustafsson via TKO (punches, R3 at 2:02)
Amanda Nunes def. Cris Cyborg via KO (punch, R1 at 0:51)
Michael Chiesa def. Carlos Condit via submission (kimura, R2 at 0:56)
Corey Anderson def. Ilir Latifi via unanimous decision (29-28 x3)
Alexander Volkanovski def. Chad Mendes via TKO (punches, R2 at 4:14)

Preliminary Card
Walt Harris def. Andrei Arlovski via split decision (27-30, 29-28 x2)
Megan Anderson def. Cat Zingano via TKO (eye injury, R1 at 1:01)
Petr Yan def. Douglas Silva de Andrade via TKO (corner stoppage, R2 at 5:00)
Ryan Hall def. B.J. Penn via submission (heel hook, R1 at 2:46)

Early Prelims
Nathaniel Wood def. Andre Ewell via submission (rear-naked choke, R3 at 4:12)
Uriah Hall def. Bevon Lewis via KO (punch, R3 at 1:32)
Curtis Millender def. Siyar Bahadurzada via unanimous decision (29-28 x2, 30-27)
Montel Jackson def. Brian Kelleher via submission (D’Arce choke, R1 at 1:40)


Share This

Want to Support?

You can support FIGHTMAG with a contribution of any size. Thank you.

Add a comment


Sign up for FIGHTMAG Weekly Newsletter

Top stories delivered to your inbox