UFC 235 results: Jon Jones defeats Anthony Smith

UFC 235: Jon Jones defeats Anthony Smith
UFC 235: Jon Jones defeats Anthony Smith / Pic: via Twitter @UFC

Kamaru Usman defeats Tyron Woodley, becomes new UFC Welterweight champion

UFC 235 was held at T-Mobile Arena in Las Vegas, NV on March 3 (AEDT). MMA event featured the 12-fight bill with two titles contested in the headliner of the show.

In the main event Jon Jones faced Anthony Smith in deference of his UFC Light Heavyweight title. After five round of action a unanimous decision went in favor of the champion who consequently retained the belt.

The co-main event featured the defending UFC Welterweight champion Tyron Woodley up against Kamaru Usman. The scheduled for five rounds championship bout also went the distance. Usman was pronounced as the winner by a unanimous decision and became a new titleholder.

Also on the main card Ben Askern made his UFC debut taking on former welterweight champion Robbie Lawler. The bout ended in the first round with debutant taking the win by submission.

In addition, Weili Zhang scored a unanimous decision against Tecia Torres, and Pedro Munhoz stopped Cody Garbrandt in the first round with punches.

The five-fight PPV card followed the four-fight preliminary card. MMA action kicked off with the early preliminary card comprising three matchups. The complete fight results from UFC 235: Jones vs. Smith can be found below.

Main Card
Jon Jones def. Anthony Smith by unanimous decision (48-44 x3)
Kamaru Usman def. Tyron Woodley by unanimous decision (50-44 x2, 50-45)
Ben Askren def. Robbie Lawler by submission (bulldog choke, R1 at 3:20)
Weili Zhang def. Tecia Torres by unanimous decision (29-28, 30-27 x2)
Pedro Munhoz def. Cody Garbrandt by KO (punches, R1 at 4:52)

Preliminary Card
Zabit Magomedsharipov def. Jeremy Stephens by unanimous decision (29-29 x3)
Johnny Walker def. Misha Cirkunov by TKO (flying knee and punches, R1 at 0:36)
Cody Stamann def. Alejandro Perez by unanimous decision (29-28 x2, 30-27)
Diego Sanchez def. Mickey Gall by TKO (punches, R2 at 4:13)

Early Preliminary Card
Edmen Shahbazyan def. Charles Byrd by TKO (elbows and punches, R1 at 0:38)
Macy Chiasson def. Gina Mazany by TKO (punches, R1 at 1:49)
Hannah Cifers def. Polyana Viana by split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)