Shinya Aoki defeats Eduard Folayang at ONE A New Era
Shinya Aoki becomes new ONE Lightweight champion

Strawweight Xiong Jing, middleweight Aung La N Sang retain titles. Kevin Belingon disqualified, Bibiano Fernandes awarded bantamweight belt

Asian promotion “ONE Championship” presented its first event in Japan this past Sunday (Mar. 31) at Ryogoku Kokugikan in Tokyo. Billed as “A New Era” the fight card featured four title bouts, quarter-finals of two World Grand Prix, as well as a series of kickboxing and Muay Thai matchups.

In the main event the defending lightweight champion Eduard Folayang faced former titleholder Shinya Aoki. The scheduled for five rounds contest ended in favor of Aoki, who avenged the 2016 defeat and regained the belt submitting Folayang in the first round.

The co-main event comprised a trio of championship defenses. In one of the bouts Xiong Jing successfully defended her ONE Women’s Strawweight title against ONE Women’s Atomweight champion Angela Lee, scoring the win by TKO in Round 5. The reigning ONE Middleweight and Light Heavyweight champion Aung La N Sang retained his middleweight strap when he stopped Ken Hasegawa in the second round.

Bantamweight title bout between the defending champion Kevin Belingon and former champion Bibiano Fernandes ended in “unfortunate sequence of events” (via event recap sent out by the promotion).

“Fernandes, who was in the driver’s seat after two rounds of action, landed a takedown in the third round but was left unable to continue after Belingon connected on a flurry of illegal elbows to the back of the head. Belingon was shown a Red Card and was automatically disqualified. Fernandes was then awarded the ONE Bantamweight World Title.”

The event also marked ONE Championship debut of lightweight Eddie Alvarez and flyweight Demetrious Johnson. The pair took part in the quarter-final bouts of World Grand Prix in their respective weight classes.

Alvarez was stopped in the first round by Timofey Nastyukhin. Johnson submitted Yuya Wakamatsu in Round 2.

In addition, Muay Thai star Yodsanklai Fairtex scored the second-round stoppage win against K-1 Kickboxing legend Andy Souwer taking the revenge for their encounter in 2008. The complete fight results from ONE: A New Era can be found below.

ONE: A New Era results

Shinya Aoki def. Eduard Folayang by submission (Arm Triangle Choke, R1 at 2:34)
Xiong Jing Nan def. Angela Lee by TKO (Strikes, R5 at 1:37)
Aung La N Sang def. Ken Hasegawa by TKO (Strikes, R2 at 4:41)
Bibiano Fernandes def. Kevin Belingon by disqualification (DQ)
Demetrious Johnson def. Yuya Wakamatsu by submission (Guillotine Choke, R2 at 2:40)
Timofey Nastyukhin def. Eddie Alvarez by TKO (Strikes, R1 at 4:05)
Yodsanklai Fairtex def. Andy Souwer by KO (R2 at 0:51)
Danny Kingad def. Senzo Ikeda by unanimous decision
Kairat Akhmetov def. Reece McLaren by unanimous decision
Rodtang Jitmuangnon def. Hakim Hamech by split decision
Joseph Lasiri def. Hiroki Akimoto by majority decision
Mei Yamaguchi def. Kseniya Lachkova by submission (Armbar, R3 at 3:18)
Garry Tonon def. Anthony Engelen by TKO (Strikes, R1 at 4:12)
Panicos Yusuf def. Mohammed Bin Mahmoud by unanimous decision
Yoon Chang Min def. Bala Shetty by submission (RNC, R1 at 4:16)