Chris Byrd, world heavyweight champ joins BYB Extreme announcing team
Chris Byrd, world heavyweight champ joins BYB Extreme announcing team

Former two-time world heavyweight boxing champion Chris Byrd is the latest addition to the inaugural event “BYB Brawl 1: Brawl For It ALL” taking place at the Cheyenne Ice & Event Center in Cheyenne, Wyoming on April 6 (AEDT). The man known for the 2000 upset corner stoppage over undefeated at that time Vitali Klitschko, joins the announcing team at cage-side.

“I’m excited to be part of the BYB team,” Bryd said (via announcement sent out by the promotion). “I’m Looking forward to commenting and sharing my vast knowledge of boxing and many years of experience. Although the two sports are different, they are still very much the same.”

Over the course of his fighting career Chris Byrd (41-5-1, 22 KO) won two professional world heavyweight titles, as well as Silver at the 1992 Summer Olympics in Barcelona where he competed in the middleweight class. “Rapid Fire” won WBO Heavyweight belt in 2000 via the ninth-round RTD against Vitali Klitschko. Although loosing the belt against Wladimir Klitschko in the next bout, two years later he scored a unanimous decision against Evander Holyfield earning IBF Heavyweight strap, following four victorious outings.

Alongside Byrd the BYB Extreme announcing team also includes blow-by-blow announcer Din Thomas and the othercolor commentators, Dyrushio Harris and his brother, Dhafir Harris, aka “Dada 5000”. Tony Martinez supports the BYB announcing team in Spanish (SAP option), while veteran Bob Alexander is the ring announcer.

“BYB Brawl 1: Brawl For It ALL” is headlined by pro-boxing knockout artist Josh Gormley (23-6, 22 KO) in his bare-knuckle fighting debut against MMA veteran Bobby Brents (17-7). The bouts are held in the triangular cage, “The Trigon”. The current fight card can be found below.

Josh Gormley vs. Bobby Brents
Jake Young vs. Matt Delanoit
Billy Martin vs. Leo Pla
Jamelle Jones vs. Matt Kovacs (MMA)
Christine Stanley vs. Latoya Burton
Alphonso Frierson vs. Mike Trujillo
Joey Angelo vs. Joseph Guillen
Robert Brown, Jr. vs. Lorenzo Hunt
Brian Jackson vs. John Michael Escoboa
Albert Martinez vs. Kory Vialet
Desmond Johnson vs. Robert Fletcher
Jermayne Barnes vs. Lamar Cannady-Foster (MMA)