Martin Nguyen defeates Narantungalag Jadambaa at ONE Roots of Honor
Martin Nguyen retains ONE Featherweight title by KO against Narantungalag Jadambaa

ONE: Roots of Honor results

Asian promotion “ONE Championship” returned to Philippines last night (Apr. 12) with the event billed as “Roots of Honor”. Taking place at the Mall of Asia Arena in Manila the fight card featured a series of MMA, kickboxing and Muay Thai bouts.

Martin Nguyen headlined the fight-bill in defense of his ONE Featherweight title against former champion Narantungalag Jadambaa. The scheduled for five rounds championship bout ended prior the final bell. The champion retained his belt scoring a knockout in the second round.

“Nguyen and Jadambaa exchanged thunderous strikes in the opening round, both looking to end the night early,” reads the event recap sent out by the promotion. “In the second round, Nguyen punished Jadambaa with powerful kicks to the leg before unleashing a perfectly-placed flying knee to take the Mongolian star out and remain the featherweight division’s king”.

Joshua Pacio regains ONE Strawweight belt by knockout of Yosuke Saruta
Joshua Pacio regains ONE Strawweight belt by knockout of Yosuke Saruta

In the co-main event Joshua Pacio regained ONE Strawweight belt when he stopped Yosuke Saruta in Round 4. In addition he avenged a defeat suffered early this year.

“Pacio survived some early trouble courtesy of a first-round knockdown from Saruta and began getting more comfortable with his strikes as the bout wore on. In the fourth round, Pacio caught Saruta with a well-timed high kick that instantly knocked Saruta out.”

Also on the night Tatsumitsu Wada earned a unanimous decision against Gustavo Balart and advanced to the semi-final of ONE Flyweight World Grand Prix. He is scheduled to face Demetrious Johnson at the future event.

The complete fight results from ONE: Roots of Honor can be found below.

Martin Nguyen def. Narantungalag Jadambaa by KO (R2 at 1:07)
Joshua Pacio def. Yosuke Saruta by KO (R4 at 2:43)
Tatsumitsu Wada def. Gustavo Balart by unanimous decision
Leandro Issa def. Fu Chang Xin by submission (Armbar, R1 at 3:03)
Andrei Stoica def. Ibrahim El Bouni by unanimous decision (Kickboxing)
James Nakashima def. Luis Santos by TKO (Injury, R2 at 0:56)
Edward Kelly def. Sung Jong Lee by TKO (Strikes, R2 at 2:51)
Anderson Silva def. Andre Meunier by KO (R1 at 1:14) (Kickboxing)
Kwon Won Il def. Eric Kelly by KO (R1 at 0:19)
Saemapetch Fairtex def. Ognjen Topic by majority decision (Muay Thai)
Xie Bin def. Ahmad Qais Jasoor by submission (D’Arce Choke, R2 at 2:27)
Niko Soe def. Eko Roni Saputra by TKO (Doctor Stoppage, R1 at 3:03)
Lerdsila Phuket Top Team def. Momotaro by unanimous decision (Muay Thai)
Bi Nguyen def. Dwi Ani Retno Wulan by TKO (Strikes, R1 at 3:55)
Ramon Gonzales def. Akihiro Fujisawa by submission (Guillotine Choke, R1 at 1:19)