Sam-A Gaiyanghadao vs Jonathan Haggerty headlines ONE For Honor
Sam-A Gaiyanghadao at the ONE: For Honor open workout | Pic: Supplied

Sam-A Gaiyanghadao defends ONE Flyweight Muay Thai title against Jonathan Haggerty

ONE Championship returns to Jakarta this Friday (May 3) with the fight card billed as “For Honor”. The main event features Sam-A Gaiyanghadao of Thailand in defense of his ONE Flyweight Muay Thai title against Jonathan Haggerty of England. The promotion has recently held the open workout session with the headline-bout competitors, as well as a number of other fighters partaking in the upcoming show, such as Priscilla Hertati Lumban Gaol, Nou Srey Pov, Paul Lumihi, Sunoto, Adrian Matheis and Himanshu Kaushik.

“It feels good to be back. Winning the World Title is a huge honor for Thailand and I am proud to represent Muay Thai on the global stage of competition,” Sam-A told media and attendees. “My opponent is young and hungry, and determined to take my title. But I’ve faced a lot of adversity throughout my career. I am prepared to defend my belt and bring glory to my country. I am thankful for the opportunity to showcase my skills once more to millions of fans around the world.”

The challenger Haggerty thanked the promotion for the opportunity to challenge for the world title “against a legend like Sam-A Gaiyanghadao”, which he outlined as “a huge honor”.

“I’ve been watching him since I was a teenager. He’s an absolute warrior and just a machine. Now I’m fighting him and it’s brilliant,” Haggerty said. “I hope he’s training hard, because I’m no pushover. I’m coming for the belt with everything I have. I’m definitely gunning for the stoppage so don’t blink.”

The co-main event at ONE: For Honor is a welterweight mixed martial arts battle between Yushin Okami and Kiamrian Abbasov. The rest of the card includes a series of MMA and Muay Thai bouts. The complete lineup can be found below.

ONE: For Honor fight card

Flyweight Sam-A Gaiyanghadao vs. Jonathan Haggerty (Muay Thai)
Welterweight Yushin Okami vs. Kiamrian Abbasov
Featherweight Tetsuya Yamada vs. Marat Gafurov
Bantamweight Yodpanomrung Jitmuangnon vs. Tyler Hardcastle (Muay Thai)
Women’s Atomweight Priscilla Hertati Lumban Gaol vs. Nou Srey Pov
Featherweight Thanh Le vs. Yusup Saadulaev
Bantamweight Paul Lumihi vs. Sunoto
Bantamweight Dae Hwan Kim vs. Ayideng Jumayi
Featherweight Keanu Subba vs. Ryogo Takahashi
Bantamweight Kenta Yamada vs. Deividas Danyla (Muay Thai)
Flyweight Rudy Agustian vs. Chan Rothana
Bantamweight Andrew Miller vs. Mohammed Bin Mahmoud (Muay Thai)
Strawweight Adrian Mattheis vs. Himanshu Kaushik
Strawweight Guntur vs. Angelo Bimoadji