UFC Ottawa results: Donald Cerrone defeats Al Iaquinta, calls out Conor McGregor

The Ultimate Fighting Championship returned to Canada on May 5 (AEDT) with UFC Fight Night 151 held at the Canadian Tire Centre in Ottawa. MMA event on ESPN+ featured the 12-fight bill with lightweights Al Iaquinta and Donald Cerrone battling it out in the headliner of the show.

The Iaquinta vs. Cerrone bout went the distance. After five rounds of action the verdict went in favor of “Cowboy” who earned a unanimous decision.

In the post-fight interview inside the Octagon, former UFC Middleweight champion Michael Bisping asked Donald Cerrone who would he like to fight next.

“I want the title, whatever that means,” Cowboy said. “Unless, Conor McGregor [do] you want to fight me in July? I am ready. 4th of July, let’s do it.”

Middleweights Derek Brunson and Elias Theodorou squared off in the co-main event. Brunson came out victorious from a three-round bout also scoring a unanimous decision.

Also on the main card featherweight Shane Burgos took a split decision against Cub Swanson, and bantamweight Merab Dvalishvili defeated Brad Katona by a unanimous decision. In addition, Walt Harris stopped Serghei Spivac with knees and punches in the first round of their heavyweight matchup.

Andrew Sanchez claimed a unanimous decision win against Marc-Andre Barriault in their middleweight battle, which kicked off the main card. The complete fight results from UFC Ottawa can be found below.

UFC Fight Night 151 results

Main Card
Donald Cerrone def. Al Iaquinta by unanimous decision (49-45 x2, 49-46)
Derek Brunson def. Elias Theodorou by unanimous decision (29-28 x2, 30-27)
Shane Burgos def. Cub Swanson by split decision (30-27, 27-30, 29-28)
Merab Dvalishvili def. Brad Katona by unanimous decision (30-27 x3)
Walt Harris def. Serghei Spivac by TKO (knees and punches, R1 at 0:50)
Andrew Sanchez def. Marc-Andre Barriault by unanimous decision (29-28 x3)

Preliminary Card
Macy Chiasson def. Sarah Moras by TKO (punches, R2 at 2:22)
Vince Morales def. Aiemann Zahabi by unanimous decision (29-28 x3)
Nordine Taleb def. Kyle Prepolec by unanimous decision (30-27 x3)
Matt Sayles def. Kyle Nelson by submission (arm-triangle choke, R3 at 3:16)
Arjan Bhullar def. Juan Adams by unanimous decision (29-28 x2, 30-27)
Cole Smith def. Mitch Gagnon by unanimous decision (29-28 x2, 30-27)