GLORY 65 Utrecht: Alex Pereira defeats Jason Wilnis
GLORY 65 Utrecht: Alex Pereira stops Jason Wilnis to retain middleweight title | James Law, Glory Sports International / Supplied

Kickboxing event GLORY 65 featured two title bouts on May 17 at Central Studios in Utrecht, Netherlands. Alex Pereira topped the fight-bill in defense of his middleweight title against former champion Jason Wilnis. The contest ended in the middle of the first round when the champion knocked the challenger out with knee, consequently retaining the belt. In addition Pereira avenged two defeats previously suffered against Wilnis.

In the co-main event the defending lightweight champion Sitthichai Sitsongpeenong faced Marat Grigorian. The scheduled for five rounds championship bout went the distance. A unanimous decision was pronounced in favor of Grigorian, who became a new champion in the division. In addition, he took the revenge for four previous bouts won by Sitthichai.

The main card also included two middleweight matchups. In one of the bouts Donovan Wisse scored a unanimous decision against Yousri Belgaroui. In another bout Eyevan Danenberg stopped Yassine Ahaggan in the first round.

Also on the night, Sofia Olofsson and Christi Brereton battled it out for a chance to challenge for women’s super bantamweight title against the current champion Anissa Meksen at the upcoming GLORY 66 Paris. The result saw Olofsson taking a split decision as well as the number one contender spot.

The complete fight results from GLORY 65 Utrecht can be found below.

GLORY 65 Utrecht results

GLORY 65 Utrecht
Alex Pereira def. Jason Wilnis by KO (Jumping knee, R1 at 1:31)
Marat Grigorian def. Sitthichai Sitsongpeenong (48-46, 49-45 x4)
Donovan Wisse def. Yousri Belgaroui by unanimous decision (29-27×5)
Eyevan Danenberg def. Yassine Ahaggan by TKO (knee, R1 at 1:51)

GLORY 65 SuperFight Series
Tyjani Beztati def. Josh Jauncey by unanimous decision (29-28×5)
Cihad Kepenek def. Junior Tafa by unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28, 30-27, 29-28 x2)
Thong Fairtex def. Bailey Sugden by split decision (30-27, 27-30, 28-29, 29-28 x2)
Luke Whelan def. Itay Gershon by split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28, 29-28, 30-27)
Sofia Olofsson def. Christi Brereton by split decision (29-28, 30-27 x2, 28-29, 29-28)

GLORY 65 Preliminary Card
Kevin van Heeckeren def. Matt Baker by unanimous decision (29-28 x2, 30-27 x3)
Ammari Diedrick def. Dani Traore by split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28 x3)
Jos van Belzen def. Percy de Maeyer by TKO (three knockdown rule, R1 at 2:08)