Khabib vs Poirier headlines UFC 242 Abu Dhabi
UFC 242: Khabib Nurmagomedov (pictured) faces Dustin Poirier in lightweight championship unification | Pic: Facebook / KhabibTheEagle

Khabib vs. Poirier official for UFC 242 in Abu Dhabi

The Ultimate Fighting Championship returns to the United Arab Emirates on September 8 (AEST) with UFC 242 held in Abu Dhabi. The main event featuring Khabib Nurmagomedov up against Dustin Poirier has been formally announced by the promotion on Wednesday. The pair of lightweights meets in the scheduled for five rounds championship unification. The winner of the contest walks out as an undisputed champion.

The 27-fight undefeated Khabib Nurmagomedov is a reigning champion in the division. He won the vacant belt by unanimous decision against Al Iaquinta in April last year. In his first title defense “The Eagle” submitted former champion Conor McGregor in the fourth round.

Dustin Poirier (25-5, 1NC) earned the interim lightweight title by a unanimous decision against Max Holloway in April. Before that “The Diamond” stopped Eddie Alvarez and Justin Gaethje in the second and fourth rounds, respectively.

“A classic showdown is expected in Abu Dhabi on September 7 [Sep. 8 AEST], as UFC lightweight champion Khabib Nurmagomedov makes the second defense of his crown against interim 155-pound titlist Dustin Poirier in the main event of UFC 242,” reads the announcement. The venue accommodating the event is yet to be named.

The list of other bouts expected on the night includes a welterweight battle between Belal Muhammad and Takashi Sato, a bantamweight matchup between Khalid Taha and Bruno Gustavo Aparecido Da Silva. In addition, Curtis Blaydes is reportedly set to meet Shamil Abdurakhimov at heavyweight, and Teemu Packalen to take on Ottman Azaita at lightweight.

Other matchups and more information is expected to be announced in the coming weeks. The lineup can be found below.

UFC 242 Main Event
Lightweight Khabib Nurmagomedov vs. Dustin Poirier

Announced bouts
Welterweight Belal Muhammad vs. Takashi Sato
Bantamweight Khalid Taha vs. Bruno Gustavo Aparecido Da Silva
Heavyweight Curtis Blaydes vs. Shamil Abdurakhimov
Lightweight Teemu Packalen vs. Ottman Azaita