Martin Nguyen defends his featherweight title against Koyomi Matsushima
Martin Nguyen (pictured) defends his featherweight title against Koyomi Matsushima at ONE Dawn of Heroes | Pic: Supplied

ONE Championship returns to the Philippines on August 2 with the “Dawn of Heroes” fight card held at the Mall of Asia Arena in Manila. On Wednesday the promotion announced a new headline-bout for the upcoming show, featuring Martin Nguyen in defense of his featherweight title against Koyomi Matsushima. The previously set contest between the defending flyweight Muay Thai champion Jonathan Haggerty and the challenger Rodtang Jitmuangnon (as understood) now serves as the co-main event.

In his previous outing in April, Vietnamese-Australian Nguyen retained his strap scoring the second-round KO of former champion Narantungalag Jadambaa.

Matsushima of Japan joined ONE Championship last September, making a successful debut by knockout in the first-round against Marat Gafurov. In his previous bout last month he scored a unanimous decision against Kwon Won Il.

The Nguyen vs. Matsushima championship bout is scheduled for five rounds.

In addition, last week the promotion announced a series of additional matchups for ONE Dawn of Heroes.

Among the bouts, Demetrious Johnson takes on Tatsumitsu Wada in the semi-final of ONE Flyweight World Grand Prix. Former lightweight champion Eduard Folayang faces Eddie Alvarez.

The updated 14-fight lineup, including a new-headliner, can be found below.

ONE Dawn of Heroes: Nguyen vs. Matsushima

Featherweight Martin Nguyen vs. Koyomi Matsushima (MMA)
Flyweight Jonathan Haggerty vs. Rodtang Jitmuangnon (Muay Thai)
Flyweight Demetrious Johnson vs. Tatsumitsu Wada (MMA)
Lightweight Eduard Folayang vs. Eddie Alvarez (MMA)
Flyweight Danny Kingad vs. Kairat Akhmetov (MMA)
Flyweight Reece McLaren vs. Yuya Wakamatsu (MMA)
Lightweight Honorio Banario vs. Timofey Nastyukhin (MMA)
Bantamweight Neunglanlek Jitmuangnon vs Chris Shaw (Muay Thai)
Welterweight James Nakashima vs. Yushin Okami (MMA)
Bantamweight Leandro Issa vs. Daichi Takenaka (MMA)
Strawweight Pongsiri Mitsatit vs. Miao Li Tao (Muay Thai)
Featherweight Edward Kelly vs. Xie Bin (MMA)
Strawweight Ayaka Miura vs. Samara Santos (MMA)
Bantamweight Muhammad Aiman vs. Sunoto (MMA)