Jon Jones defeats Thiago Santos at UFC 239
UFC Light Heavyweight champion Jon Jones | Pic: Twitter/UFC_AUSNZ

MMA event UFC 239 took place at T-Mobile Arena in Paradise (Las Vegas), NV on July 7 (AEST). The pay-per-view card was headlined by the light heavyweight championship featuring Jon Jones in defense of his title against Thiago Santos. The scheduled for five rounds bout went the distance and ended in favor of Jones who retained his belt by split decision.

The co-main event saw the two-weight division champion Amanda Nunes in defense of her women’s bantamweight title against former champion Holly Holm. The women’s MMA battle didn’t go the distance. Nunes successfully defended her strap scoring the first-round knockout win with head kick.

The main card also included a welterweight bout between Ben Askren and Jorge Masvidal. The encounter ended in favor of the latter, who took the win via a flying knee knockout five seconds in the first round, declaring the quickest KO in UFC history.

In addition, Jan Blachowicz came out victorious by knockout in the second round against Luke Rockhold from their light heavyweight matchup, and Michael Chiesa earned a unanimous decision against Diego Sanchez in their welterweight bout.

The five-fight main card followed the preliminary card comprising four bouts. The action kicked off with the early preliminary lineup featuring three matchups.

The complete fight results from UFC 239 can be found below.

UFC 239: Jones vs. Santos results

Main card
Jon Jones def. Thiago Santos by split decision (48-47, 47-48, 48-47)
Amanda Nunes def. Holly Holm by KO (head kick and punches, R1 at 4:10)
Jorge Masvidal def. Ben Askren by KO (flying knee, R1 at 0:05)
Jan Blachowicz def. Luke Rockhold by KO (punches, R2 at 1:39)
Michael Chiesa def. Diego Sanchez by unanimous decision (30-26 x3)

Preliminary card
Arnold Allen def. Gilbert Melendez by unanimous decision (30-27 x3)
Marlon Vera def. Nohelin Hernandez by submission (rear-naked choke, R2 at 3:25)
Claudia Gadelha def. Randa Markos by unanimous decision (30-27 x3)
Yadong Song def. Alejandro Perez by KO (punch, R1 at 2:04)

Early Preliminary card
Edmen Shahbazyan def. Jack Marshman by submission (rear-naked choke, R1 at 1:12)
Chance Rencountre def. Ismail Naurdiev by unanimous decision (29-27, 29-28, 30-27)
Julia Avila def. Pannie Kianzad by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-26 x2)