Bellator 224: Julia Budd defeats Olga Rubin by TKO in the first round
Bellator 224: Julia Budd defeats Olga Rubin by TKO in the first round to retain women's featherweight title

Women’s Featherweight title was on the line in Thackerville, Oklahoma on July 13 (AEST) when the defending champion Julia Budd faced Olga Rubin in the headliner of Bellator 224. The contest headlined the fight-bill on Paramount Network and DAZN.

The scheduled for five rounds encounter didn’t go the distance. Budd stopped Rubin at 2:14 of the first round with strikes, making a successful title defense. In addition, she updated her record to 13-2. Rubin suffered the first defeat in her professional MMA career, dropping to 6-1.

The co-main featured Chidi Njokuani up against Rafael Carvalho in the 190-pound catchweight bout. After three rounds of action the latter claimed the win by unanimous decision.

Also on the main card Juliana Velasquez came out victorious from her women’s flyweight bout scoring the second-round stoppage against Kristina Williams. In addition, Ed Ruth TKO’d Kiichi Kunimoto in Round 2 of their welterweight matchup.

The four-fight main card followed the preliminary card comprising twelve outings.

Among the bouts, Christian Edwards defeat Justin Vargas by TKO in the first round of their light heavyweight battle. World Champion kickboxer Gabriel Varga made a successful MMA debut, scoring the second-round TKO against Jamese Taylor at featherweight.

The complete fight results from Bellator 224 can be found below.

Bellator 224: Budd vs. Rubin results

Main Card
Julia Budd def. Olga Rubin via TKO (strike, R1 at 2:14)
Rafael Carvalho def. Chidi Njokuani via unanimous decision (29-28 x3)
Juliana Velasquez def. Kristina Williams via TKO (punches, R2 at 4:03)
Ed Ruth def. Kiichi Kunimoto via TKO (punches, R2 at 3:49)

Preliminary Card
Christian Edwards def. Justin Vargas via TKO (punches, R1 at 0:54)
AJ Agazarm def. Jacob Landin via submission (rear-naked choke, R1 at 4:21)
Will Fleury def. Antonio Jones via unanimous decision (30-26, 30-27 x2)
Arlene Blencowe def. Amanda Bell via KO (punches, R1 at 0:22)
Jordan Young def. Joel Bauman via submission (triangle choke, R1 at 3:20)
Leslie Smith def. Sinead Kavanagh via majority decision (28-28, 29-28 x2)
Mike Jackson def. Kiefer Crosbie via DQ (illegal knee)
Gabriel Varga def. Jamese Taylor via TKO (strikes, R2 at 3:23)
Nainoa Dung def. Brad Robison via unanimous decision (28-27 x3)
Joseph Holmes def. Kona Oliveira via submission (rear-naked choke, R2 at 2:41)
Bruna Ellen def. Elina Kallionidou via unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28 x2)
Lucas Brennan def. Thomas Lopez via submission (rear-naked choke, R1 at 3:02)