Eddie Alvarez faces Eduard Folayang in semi-final of ONE Lightweight World Grand Prix
Eddie Alvarez (pictured) faces Eduard Folayang in semi-final of ONE Lightweight World Grand Prix on August 2 in Manila

Following a shuffle in the flyweight division of the upcoming “ONE Dawn of Heroes” event on August 2 in Manila, the promotion announced a change in the lightweight class. Timofey Nastyukhin has been forced to withdraw from his encounter with Honorio Banario due to “a serious knee injury”. The latter received a new opponent, Dae Sung Park. Yet, the semi-final bout has been replaced by Eduard Folayang vs. Eddie Alvarez matchup. The winner is expected to face Saygid Guseyn Arslanaliev in the finale scheduled for October 13 at the “ONE: Century” event in Tokyo.

“Multiple-time World Champion Eddie “The Underground King” Alvarez of the United States and his opponent, former ONE Lightweight World Champion Eduard “Landslide” Folayang of the Philippines, will enter the ONE Lightweight World Grand Prix Semi-finals after Timofey Nastyukhin was forced to withdraw from the tournament due to injury,” reads the announcement sent out by the promotion on Monday.

Eddie Alvarez (29-7, 1 NC) is the former UFC and Bellator MMA Lightweight champion. He made his ONE Championship debut in March facing the defeat by knockout in the first round against Nastyukhin.

Eduard Folayang (21-7) is the former ONE Lightweight champion. In his previous bout in March (on the same event as Alvarez) he lost the title against Shinya Aoki, who earned the win by submission in the first round.

ONE Dawn of Heroes takes place at the Mall of Asia Arena in Manila, the Philippines on August 2. In the main event Martin Nguyen defends his featherweight title against Koyomi Matsushima. In the co-main event Jonathan Haggerty defends his flyweight Muay Thai title against Rodtang Jitmuangnon.

Following the change, the updated lineup can be found below.

ONE Dawn of Heroes

Featherweight Martin Nguyen vs. Koyomi Matsushima (MMA)
Flyweight Jonathan Haggerty vs. Rodtang Jitmuangnon (Muay Thai)
Flyweight Demetrious Johnson vs. Tatsumitsu Wada (MMA)
Lightweight Eduard Folayang vs. Eddie Alvarez (MMA)
Flyweight Danny Kingad vs. Reece McLaren (MMA)
Flyweight Yuya Wakamatsu vs. Geje Eustaquio (MMA)
Lightweight Honorio Banario vs. Dae Sung Park (MMA)
Bantamweight Neunglanlek Jitmuangnon vs Chris Shaw (Muay Thai)
Welterweight James Nakashima vs. Yushin Okami (MMA)
Bantamweight Leandro Issa vs. Daichi Takenaka (MMA)
Strawweight Pongsiri Mitsatit vs. Miao Li Tao (Muay Thai)
Featherweight Edward Kelly vs. Xie Bin (MMA)
Strawweight Ayaka Miura vs. Samara Santos (MMA)
Bantamweight Muhammad Aiman vs. Sunoto (MMA)
Heavyweight Mauro Cerilli vs. Arjan Bhullar (MMA)