UFC 240: Max Holloway retains featherweight title by decision against Frankie Edgar
UFC 240: Max Holloway retains featherweight title by decision against Frankie Edgar | Pic: Facebook/blessedmmaofficial

MMA event UFC 240 presented the 11-fight bill at Rogers Place in Edmonton, Alberta, Canada on July 28 (AEST). Top of the pay-per-view card featured the defending featherweight champion Max Holloway up against the challenger Frankie Edgar.

The scheduled for five rounds encounter went the distance. The verdict heard “Blessed” retaining his strap by unanimous decision.

Alex Volkanovski, who was cageside at the event, might be the next competitor to take on the current champion Holloway, challenging for the title.

The co-main event at UFC 240 featured the women’s featherweight battle between Felicia Spencer and Cris Cyborg. The contest went a three-round distance and ended in favor of the latter, who scored a unanimous decision.

Also on the main card Geoff Neal stopped Niko Price in the second round of their welterweight clash, and Arman Tsarukyan came out victorious by unanimous decision from his lightweight bout against Olivier Aubin-Mercier. In addition, Krzysztof Jotko took a split decision against Marc-Andre Barriault at middleweight.

The five-fight main card followed the preliminary card comprising four bouts. The two-fight early preliminary card kicked off the action. The complete fight results from UFC 240 can be found below.

Main card
Max Holloway def. Frankie Edgar by unanimous decision (50-45, 50-45, 48-47)
Cris Cyborg def. Felicia Spencer by unanimous decision (30-27 x3)
Geoff Neal def. Niko Price by TKO (punches, R2 at 2:39)
Arman Tsarukyan def. Olivier Aubin-Mercier by unanimous decision (29-28 x3)
Krzysztof Jotko def. Marc-Andre Barriault by split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

Preliminary card
Viviane Ara├║jo def. Alexis Davis unanimous decision (29-28 x3)
Hakeem Dawodu def. Yoshinori Horie by TKO (head kick, R3 at 4:09)
Gavin Tucker def. Seung Woo Choi by submission (rear-naked choke, R3 at 3:17)
Deiveson Figueiredo def. Alexandre Pantoja by unanimous decision (30-27 x3)

Early preliminary card
Gillian Robertson def. Sarah Frota by TKO (elbows, R2 at 4:13)
Erik Koch def. Kyle Stewart by unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28 x2)