ONE Dawn of Heroes: Nguyen defeats Matsushima
ONE Featherweight champion Martin Nguyen (l) in defense of his title against Koyomi Matsushima (r)

Nguyen retains, Rodtang new champ

ONE Championship returned to the Philippines with the “Dawn of Heroes” fight card held last night (August 2) at the Mall of Asia in Manila. The event featured a series of MMA and Muay Thai matchups, including two championship bouts and semi-finals of World Grand Prix in two weight classes.

In the main event Martin Nguyen faced Koyomi Matsushima in defense of his featherweight title. The scheduled for five rounds bout didn’t go the distance. The champion retained his belt by TKO in the second round with strikes.

In the co-main event Jonathan Haggerty took on Rodtang Jitmuangnon in defense of his flyweight Muay Thai belt. The encounter went a full-five round distance and ended in favor of the latter, who earned a unanimous decision and became a new champion in the division.

Also on the card Eddie Alvarez submitted Eduard Folayang in the first round of their lightweight World Grand Prix. The semi-finals in the flyweight division saw Demetrious Johnson claiming a unanimous decision against Tatsumitsu Wada, and Danny Kingad taking a split decision against Reece McLaren.

In addition on the main card, Rodlek PK.Saenchaimuaythaigym knocked out Andrew Miller in the third round of their bantamweight Muay Thai battle. The complete fight results from ONE: Dawn of Heroes can be found below.

Martin Nguyen def. Koyomi Matsushima by TKO (Strikes, R2 at 4:40)
Rodtang Jitmuangnon def. Jonathan Haggerty by unanimous decision
Eddie Alvarez def. Eduard Folayang by submission (Rear Naked Choke, R1 at 2:16)
Demetrious Johnson def. Tatsumitsu Wada by unanimous decision
Danny Kingad def. Reece McLaren by split decision
Rodlek PK.Saenchaimuaythaigym def. Andrew Miller by KO (R3 at 0:49)
Yuya Wakamatsu def. Geje Eustaquio by KO (R1 at 1:59)
Dae Sung Park def. Honorio Banario by unanimous decision
Daichi Takenaka def. Leandro Issa by TKO (Strikes, R3 at 1:39)
James Nakashima def. Yushin Okami by unanimous decision
Xie Bin def. Edward Kelly by technical decision
Miao Li Tao def. Pongsiri Mitsatit by unanimous decision
Ayaka Miura def. Samara Santos by submission (Americana, R2 at 0:39)
Muhammad Aiman def. Sunoto by unanimous decision