UFC 241 Miocic defeats Cormier
UFC 241: Stipe Miocic regains heavyweight title | Pic: Facebook/OfficialStipeMiocic

UFC 241 took place at Honda Center in Anaheim, California, US on August 18 (AEST). The pay-per-view fight card was headlined by a heavyweight championship rematch between the defending champion Daniel Cormier up against former titleholder Stipe Miocic.

The pair met for the second time after their encounter in July 2018. The bout ended in favor of Cormier, who dethroned Miocic by knockout in the first round.

The scheduled for five rounds championship rematch ended prior to the final horn. Taking the revenge, Miocic reclaimed the belt by TKO in the fourth round, as well as updated his record to 19-3. Cormier dropped to 22-2, which snapped his win-streak since May 2015.

The co-main event marked a return of Nate Diaz, who faced former lightweight champion Anthony Pettis. The pair squared off in the scheduled for three rounds battle at welterweight.

The encounter went a full distance. The verdict heard a unanimous decision in favor of Diaz.

Also on the main card Paulo Costa came out victorious by unanimous decision from his middleweight clash against Yoel Romero, Sodiq Yusuff stopped Gabriel Benitez in the first round of their featherweight bout, and Derek Brunson scored a unanimous decision against Ian Heinisch at middleweight.

The complete fight results from UFC 241 can be found below.

UFC 241: Cormier vs. Miocic 2 results

Main card
Stipe Miocic def. Daniel Cormier by TKO (punches, R4 at 4:09)
Nate Diaz def. Anthony Pettis by unanimous decision(30-27 x2, 29-28)
Paulo Costa def. Yoel Romero by unanimous decision (29-28 x3)
Sodiq Yusuff def. Gabriel Benitez by TKO (punches, R1 at 4:14)
Derek Brunson def. Ian Heinisch by unanimous decision (29-28 x3)

Preliminary Card
Khama Worthy def. Devonte Smith by TKO (punches, R1 at 4:15)
Cory Sandhagen def. Raphael Assuncao by unanimous decision (30-27 x2, 29-28)
Drakkar Klose def. Christos Giagos by unanimous decision (29-28 x3)
Casey Kenney def. Manny Bermudez by unanimous decision (29-28 x3)

Early Preliminary Card
Hannah Cifers def. Jodie Esquibel by unanimous decision (30-28, 30-27 x2)
Kyung Ho Kang def. Brandon Davis by split decision (28-29, 29-28, 29-28)
Sabina Mazo def. Shana Dobson by unanimous decision (30-24, 30-25 x2)