Live stream UFC on ESPN Plus
Live stream UFC on ESPN Plus
Live stream UFC on ESPN Plus
Live stream UFC on ESPN Plus
Live stream UFC on ESPN Plus
Live stream UFC on ESPN Plus
Live stream UFC on ESPN Plus
Live stream UFC on ESPN Plus

Weili stops Andrade in 42 seconds to take UFC title

Zhang Weili becomes the first Chinese UFC champion

UFC Women’s Strawweight title was on the line on August 31 in Shenzhen, China. The contest featured Brazilian Jessica Andrade making her first defense against the representative of the country-host Zhang Weili.


The scheduled for five rounds championship bout ended prior to the final horn. The challenger claimed the win, as well as the belt, 42 seconds in the first round.

Furthermore, Weili became the first Chinese athlete in history to hold UFC title, and updated her record to 20-1. Andrade, now former champion, dropped to 20-7, which snapped her four-win streak including the title win against Rose Namajunas.

The co-main event saw Li Jingliang taking the third-round stoppage win against Elizeu Zaleski dos Santos at welterweight. Also on the main card, flyweight Kai Kara-France and welterweight Song Kenan came out victorious by unanimous decision from their respective bouts against Mark De La Rosa and Derrick Krantz. In addition, Mizuki Inoue took a split decision against Wu Yanan at 129-pound catchweight.

The five-fight main card followed the preliminary card comprising six matchups. The complete fight results from UFC Shenzhen (UFC on ESPN+ 15 / UFC Fight Night 157) can be found below.

UFC Fight Night: Andrade vs. Zhang results

Main card
Zhang Weili def. Jessica Andrade by TKO (knees and punches, R1 at 0:42
Li Jingliang def. Elizeu Zaleski dos Santos by TKO (punches, R3 at 4:51)
Kai Kara-France def. Mark De La Rosa by unanimous decision (30-27 x2, 29-28)
Song Kenan def. Derrick Krantz by unanimous decision (29-28 x3)
Mizuki Inoue def. Wu Yanan by split decision (28-29, 29-28 x2)

Preliminary card
Anthony Hernandez def. Jun Yong Park by submission (anaconda choke, R2 at 4:39)
Su Mudaerji def. Andre Soukhamthath by unanimous decision (30-26 x2, 30-25)
Da Un Jung def. Khadis Ibragimov by submission (guillotine choke, R3 at 2:00)
Damir Ismagulov def. Thiago Moises by unanimous decision (30-26, 30-27 x2)
Heili Alateng def. Danaa Batgerel by unanimous decision (29-27 x3)
Karolline Rosa Cavedo def. Lara Fritzen Procopio by split decision (28-29, 30-27, 29-28)


Share This

Want to Support?

You can support FIGHTMAG with a contribution of any size. Thank you.


Cold Company

Sign up for FIGHTMAG Weekly Newsletter

Top stories delivered to your inbox

Watch DAZN boxing live stream