UFC 242 results: Khabib Nurmagomedov retains lightweight title by submission of Dustin Poirier
UFC Lightweight champion Khabib Nurmagomedov retains his title by submission of Dustin Poirier | Pic: Facebook/KhabibTheEagle

The UFC 242 results are now in the history books. The event saw the reigning lightweight champion Khabib Nurmagomedov and the division’s interim titleholder Dustin Poirier squaring off in the championship unification with undisputed belt at stake. The contest headlined the pay-per-view fight card held in Abu Dhabi, UAE on September 8 (AEST).

The scheduled for five rounds battle didn’t go the distance. “The Eagle” retained his strap by submission of “Diamond” in the third round.

In addition, Nurmagomedov updated his undefeated record to 28-0, which includes the victories against Conor McGregor, Al Iaquinta, among others. Poirier dropped to 25-6, 1 NC, which snapped his unbeaten streak since February 2017, including five out of six victories.

The co-main event at UFC 242 saw another battle at lightweight pitting Edson Barboza and Paul Felder. The pair went toe to toe during three rounds. The latter took the win by split decision.

Also on the main card Islam Makhachev scored a unanimous decision against Davi Ramos, and Curtis Blaydes stopped Shamil Abdurakhimov in Round 2. In addition, Carlos Diego Ferreira claimed a unanimous decision against Mairbek Taisumov.

The complete UFC 242 results can be found below.

UFC 242: Khabib vs. Poirier results

Main card
Khabib Nurmagomedov def. Dustin Poirier by submission (rear-naked choke, R3 at 2:06)
Paul Felder def. Edson Barboza by split decision (27-30, 29-28, 30-27)
Islam Makhachev def. Davi Ramos by unanimous decision (29-27, 30-26 x2)
Curtis Blaydes def. Shamil Abdurakhimov by TKO (elbow and punches, R2 at 2:22)
Carlos Diego Ferreira def. Mairbek Taisumov by unanimous decision (29-28, 29-27 x2)

Preliminary card
Joanne Calderwood def. Andrea Lee by split decision (28-29, 30-27, 29-28)
Zubaira Tukhugov vs. Lerone Murphy – split draw (28-29, 29-28, 28-28)
Sarah Moras def. Liana Jojua by TKO (punches and elbows, R3 at 2:26)
Ottman Azaitar def. Teemu Packalen by KO (punch, R1 at 3:33)

Early preliminary card
Belal Muhammad def. Takashi Sato by submission (rear-naked choke, R3 at 1:55)
Muslim Salikhov def. Nordine Taleb by KO (punch, R1 at 4:26)
Omari Akhmedov def. Zak Cummings by unanimous decision (30-27 x2, 29-28)
Don Madge def. Fares Ziam by unanimous decision (30-27 x2, 29-28)