UFC 243 Whittaker vs Adesanya results
UFC 243: Robert Whittaker faceoff Israel Adesanya at media day | Pic: Benjamin Cooke / Throwdown Photography

Middleweight champion Robert Whittaker and the division’s interim titleholder Israel Adesanya squared off in the championship unification. The pair headlined UFC 243 fight card held today (October 6) at Marvel Stadium in Melbourne, Australia.

The official weigh-in ceremony was conducted on Saturday. The scheduled for five rounds championship bout didn’t go the distance. Adesanya claimed the win by knockout in the second round, to become a new undisputed middleweight champion.

In the co-main event Al Iaquinta and Dan Hooker battled it out at lightweight. After three rounds Hooker was awarded a unanimous decision.

Also on the main card Tai Tuivasa went up against Sergey Spivak. The clash of heavy-hitter ended in the second round in favor of Spivak, who claimed the win by submission.

Luke Jumeau and Dhiego Lima went a three-round distance at welterweight. Lima took the win by split decision.

As well, Justin Tafa met Yorgan De Castro in a three-round battle at heavyweight. The contest ended in the first round when the latter dropped his opponent with right over hand.

In addition, Jamie Mullarkey and Brad Riddell put on a striking performance in their UFC debut. The verdict heard a unanimous decision in favor of the latter.

FIGHTMAG is cage side catching all the live action inside the Octagon. The updating UFC 243 fight results can be found below and via Twitter.

UFC 243 Whittaker vs Adesanya results

Main card (PPV)
Israel Adesanya def. Robert Whittaker by KO (R2 at 3:33)
Dan Hooker def. Al Iaquinta by unanimous decision (30-27, 30-27, 30-26)
Sergey Spivak def. Tai Tuivasa by submission (arm triangle coke, R2 at 3:14)
Dhiego Lima def. Luke Jumeau by split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)
Yorgan De Castro def. Justin Tafa by KO (punch, R1 at 2:10)

Preliminary Card (ESPN2)
Jake Matthews def. Rostem Akman by unanimous decision (30-27 x3)
Callan Potter def. Maki Pitolo by unanimous decision (29-28 x3)
Brad Riddell def. Jamie Mullarkey by unanimous decision (30-26, 29-27, 30-26)
Megan Anderson def. Zarah Fairn dos Santos by submission (R1 at 3:57)

Early Prelims (UFC Fight Pass)
Ji Yeon Kim def. Nadia Kassem by KO (R2 at 4:59)
Khalid Taha def. Bruno Silva by submission (arm triangle choke, R3 at 3:00)