ONE Century results Angela Lee submits Xiong Jing Nan
ONE Century: Angela Lee dominates Xiong Jing Nan | Pic: Supplied/ ONE Championship

Demetrious Johnson and Christian Lee victorious in World Grand Prix

The first part of ONE Century is in the books. The event was held on Sunday (Oct. 13) at Ryogoku Kokugikan in Tokyo, Japan. The lineup featured a series of MMA and Muay Thai bouts with three championships contested in the headliner of the show.

In the main event Angela Lee successfully defended her atomweight title against the current strawweight champion Xiong Jing Nan. The contest ended 2 seconds till the end of the fifth round with Lee taking the win by submission.

“The first round saw solid action transpire with both women having their moments. Xiong punished Lee with crisp boxing combinations but Lee took it well. Lee, on the other hand, landed a couple of solid right hands and looked constantly for the clinch. In the second frame, Lee continued to pursue the takedown, in an attempt to bring the action to the ground. She began to dominate with her high-level grappling in the third, as Xiong started to wilt under pressure. In the fourth round, Xiong battled back brilliantly behind her jab-straight combination. But Lee would not back down, firing combinations of her own. In the final round, Lee executed an explosive belly-to-back suplex to bring Xiong to the canvas. Moments later, Lee took the back and sunk in a rear naked choke to force the tap,” reads the event recap sent out by the promotion.

In the co-main event Danny Kingad and Demetrious Johnson went head to head in the final of flyweight World Grand Prix. After three rounds of action the latter was awarded a unanimous decision.

Also on the card the reigning lightweight champion Christian Lee scored a unanimous decision against Saygid Guseyn Arslanaliev in the final of the division’s WGP. The complete fight results from ONE Century Part 1 can be found below.

ONE Century Part 1 results

Angela Lee def. Xiong Jing Nan by submission (Rear Naked Choke, R2 at 4:48)
Demetrious Johnson def. Danny Kingad by unanimous decision
Janet Todd def. Ekaterina Vandaryeva by KO (head kick, R2 at 2:29)
Christian Lee def. Saygid Guseyn Arslanaliev by unanimous decision
Yuya Wakamatsu def. Dae Hwan Kim by unanimous decision
Sam-A Gaiyanghadao def. Daren Rolland by KO (R2 at 1:20)
Yushin Okami def. Agilan Thani by split decision
Itsuki Hirata def. Rika Ishige by submission (Armbar, R2 at 4:41)
Lito Adiwang def. Senzo Ikeda by TKO (Injury, R1 at 1:57)
Yoon Chang Min def. Phoe Thaw by submission (Rear Naked Choke, R1 at 3:17)
Kwon Won Il def. Sunoto by TKO (Strikes, R1 at 1:43)