UFC Fight Night 161 results: Joanna Jedrzejczyk defeats Michelle Watterson
UFC Strawweight Joanna Jedrzejczyk | Pic: Facebook/ joanna.jedrzejczyk

UFC Fight Night 161 took place at Amalie Arena in Tampa, Florida, USA on October 13 (AEST). MMA event on ESPN+ featured a series of bouts with strawweights Joanna Jedrzejczyk and Michelle Waterson squaring off in the headliner of the show.

The scheduled for five rounds women’s MMA bout went the distance. The verdict heard a unanimous decision in favor of former champion in the division, Jedrzejczyk, who updated her record to 16-3 and rebounded from the defeat suffered against Valentina Shevchenko in flyweight title fight last December. Waterson dropped to 17-7, which also snapped her three-fight win streak.

In the co-main event Cub Swanson scored a unanimous decision against Kron Gracie at featherweight. Also on the card Niko Price knocked out James Vick in the first round of their welterweight bout.

In addition, Amanda Ribas defeated Mackenzie Dern by unanimous decision at women’s strawweight, Matt Frevola took a split decision against Luis Pena at lightweight, and Eryk Anders defeated Gerald Meerschaert also by split decision at middleweight.

The complete UFC Tampa results (UFC on ESPN+ 19) can be found below.

UFC Fight Night: Jedrzejczyk vs. Waterson

Main card
Joanna Jedrzejczyk def. Michelle Waterson by unanimous (50-45 x2, 49-46)
Cub Swanson def. Kron Gracie by unanimous decision (30-27 x3)
Niko Price def. James Vick by KO (upkick, R1 at 1:44)
Amanda Ribas def. Mackenzie Dern by unanimous decision (30-27 x3)
Matt Frevola def. Luis Pena by split decision (28-29, 29-28, 29-28)
Eryk Anders def. Gerald Meerschaert by split decision (28-29, 29-28, 29-28)

Preliminary card
Ryan Spann def. Devin Clark by submission (guillotine choke, R2 at 2:01)
Mike Davis def. Thomas Gifford by KO (punch, R3 at 4:45)
Alex Morono def. Max Griffin by unanimous decision (29-28 x3)
Deiveson Figueiredo def. Tim Elliott by submission (guillotine choke, R1 at 3:08)
Marlon Vera def. Andre Ewell by TKO (R3 at 3:17)
Miguel Baeza def. Hector Aldana by TKO (R2 at 2:32)
Marvin Vettori def. Andrew Sanchez by unanimous decision (30-27 x3)
JJ Aldrich def. Lauren Mueller by unanimous decision (30-27, 29-28 x2)