Aung La N Sang defeats Brandon Vera at ONE Century Part 2
Aung La N Sang lands head kick in his light heavyweight title bout against Brandon Vera | Pic: Supplied/ ONE Championship

Fernandes and Rodtang retain titles, Petrosyan wins WGP

The second part of ONE Century was held last night (Oct. 13) at Ryogoku Kokugikan in Tokyo, Japan. The fight card featured a total of eleven bouts, comprising MMA, Kickboxing and Muay Thai, including four championships.

In the main event two-division champion (middleweight and light heavyweight) Aung La N Sang faced the reigning heavyweight champion Brandon Vera in defense of his light heavyweight title. The championship bout ended in the second round with Sang retaining his belt by TKO with strikes.

“Aung La set the tempo in the first round, peppering Vera with leg kicks in an attempt to slow down the taller man. Against the fence, Vera would connect on a series of punches and elbows, which Aung La wore well. The second frame opened up with more action on the inside, as both men connected on huge combinations from close range. Vera and Aung La took each other’s best shots. A furious exchange of thunderous strikes against the fence ensued. Aung La landed a sharp spinning back elbow to rock Vera, sending the Filipino-American to the canvas. Aung La put on the finishing touches with ground-and-pound while Vera covered up,” reads the event recap sent out by the promotion.

Also on the night Bibiano Fernandes made a successful defense of his bantamweight title by submission in the second round against former champion Kevin Belingon in their fourth encounter. As well, Rodtang Jitmuangnon retained his flyweight Muay Thai belt by split decision against Walter Goncalves. In addition, Giorgio Petrosyan came out victorious by unanimous decision against Samy Sana from their final battle of featherweight kickboxing World Grand Prix.

The complete fight results from ONE Century Part 2 can be found below. The results from the first chapter can be found here.

ONE Century Part 2 results

Aung La N Sang def. Brandon Vera by TKO (Strikes, R2 at 3:23)
Shinya Aoki def. Honorio Banario by submission (D’Arce Choke, R1 at 0:54)
Bibiano Fernandes def. Kevin Belingon by submission (Rear Naked Choke, R2 at 2:16
Rodtang Jitmuangnon def. Walter Goncalves by split decision
Giorgio Petrosyan def. Samy Sana by unanimous decision
Arjan Bhullar def. Mauro Cerilli by unanimous decision
Mei Yamaguchi def. Jenny Huang by unanimous decision
Yosuke Saruta def. Daichi Kitakata by KO (R2 at 0:59)
Shoko Sato def. Rafael Silva by TKO (Strikes, R2 at 4:30)
Hiroyuki Tetsuka def. Hernani Perpetuo by unanimous decision
Takasuke Kume def. Koshi Matsumoto by unanimous decision