Anissa Meksen defends title against Tiffany Van Soest at GLORY 71 Chicago
Anissa Meksen defends super bantamweight title against Tiffany Van Soest at GLORY 71 Chicago | Pic: James Law, Glory Sports International

Tiffany Van Soest is looking to regain super bantamweight title when she takes on the defending champion Anissa Meksen in the headliner of GLORY 71. Kickboxing event launches the program of two back to back shows held at Wintrust Arena in Chicago, IL on November 22-23.

The pair has previously fought twice. Meksen claimed the belt against Van Soest by unanimous decision in December 2017 in New York. Their most recent encounter, held this past March in Strasbourg, also ended in favor of the current champion, who retained the belt by split decision.

In her previous outing in June in Paris, Anissa Meksen (99-4, 32 KO) successfully defended her title via first-round TKO against Sofia Olofsson. Tiffany Van Soest (20-4-1, 6 KO) is fresh off the win by unanimous decision against former champion Jady Menezes, scored late last month in Miami.

The championship bout is scheduled for five rounds.

The co-main event at GLORY 71 features heavyweight rematch between Benjamin Adegbuyi (33-6, 19 KO) and D’Angelo Marshall (20-4, 11 KO). In their first battle in February 2018 back in Chicago, Adegbuyi knocked Marshall out 36 seconds in the opening round.

Also on the main card Luke Whelan faces Nick Chasteen at lightweight, and Omari Boyd takes on Ammari Diedrick at welterweight. Among the bouts featured on the Super Fight Series portion of the card, Aline Pereira squares off against Crystal Lawson at bantamweight, and Oleh Pryimachov and Cihad Kepenek do battle at heavyweight.

Additional bouts are expected to be announced in the coming weeks. The current GLORY 71 fight card can be found below.

GLORY 71: Meksen vs. Van Soest 3

Main card
Super Bantamweight Anissa Meksen vs. Tiffany Van Soest
Heavyweight Benjamin Adegbuyi vs. D’Angelo Marshall
Lightweight Luke Whelan vs. Nick Chasteen
Welterweight Omari Boyd vs. Ammari Diedrick

Super Fight Series
Heavyweight Oleh Pryimachov vs. Cihad Kepenek
Heavyweight Anthony McDonald vs. Arkadiusz Wrzosek
Welterweight Mike Lemaire vs. Malik Watson-Smith
Bantamweight Aline Pereira vs. Crystal Lawson
Lightweight Justin Houghton vs. Peter Stanonik