Bellator 233 John Salter defeats Costello van Steenis by unanimous decision
Bellator 233: John Salter defeats Costello van Steenis by unanimous decision | Pic: Supplied/ Bellator MMA

MMA event Bellator 233 took place in Thackerville, OK, USA on November 9 (AEST). The top of the fight card on Paramount Network and DAZN featured John Salter and Costello van Steenis, squaring off at middleweight.

The scheduled for three rounds encounter went a full distance. The verdict heard a unanimous decision in favor of Salter, who updated his record to 17-4. Van Steenis dropped to 12-2.

The 195-pound catchweight co-main event bout between Muhammed “King Mo” Lawal and Andrew Kapel ended in the first round. The latter claimed the win by knockout.

Also on the main card Arlene Blencowe scored a unanimous decision against Leslie Smith at women’s featherweight, and Tyrell Fortune stopped Zu Anyanwu in the second round of their heavyweight matchup.

The preliminary card featured ten bouts. The complete Bellator 233 results can be found below.

Bellator 233: Salter vs. Van Steenis results

Main card

John Salter def. Costello van Steenis by unanimous decision (29-28 x3)

Andrew Kapel def. Muhammed “King Mo” Lawal by KO (punch, R1 at 1:22)

Arlene Blencowe def. Leslie Smith by unanimous decision (30-27 x3)

Tyrell Fortune def. Zu Anyanwu by TKO (punches, R2 at 1:56)

Preliminary card

Aaron McKenzie def. Sean Clements by submission (rear-naked choke, R1 at 4:31)

Lucas Brennan def. Jacob Landin by submission (rear-naked choke, R1 at 3:38)

Tyree Fortune def. Chuck Campbell by split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)

Logan Storley def. E.J. Brooks by TKO (injury, R1 at 5:00)

Julius Anglickas def. Jordan Young by unanimous decision (30-27 x3)

Amanda Bell def. Janay Harding by TKO (punches, R3 at 4:44)

Kyle Crutchmer def. Robert Gidron by unanimous decision (30-27 x3)

Romero Cotton def. Jason Perrotta by verbal submission (injury, R1 at 2:16)

Christian Edwards def. Cesar Bennett by KO (head kick, R1 at 0:16)

Grant Neal def. Jimmy Lugo by unanimous decision (30-26 x2, 29-28)