Joshua Pacio defeats Rene Catalan to retain strawweight title at ONE Masters of Fate
Joshua Pacio defeats Rene Catalan to retain strawweight title at ONE Masters of Fate in Manila, Philippines | Pic: Supplied/ ONE Championship

ONE Strawweight title was on the line last night (Nov. 8) at the Mall of Asia in Manila, Philippines. The contest featured the defending champion Joshua Pacio up against challenger Rene Catalan. The pair battled it out in the headliner of the event titled “Masters of Fate”.

The scheduled for five rounds championship encounter didn’t go the distance. Pacio retained his strap by submission in Round 2.

“Pacio survived an early submission scare from Catalan to impose his will on the ground. In the second round, Pacio stuffed a takedown from Catalan and worked his way into mount, before securing a masterful arm-triangle choke, leaving the challenger with no choice but to tap out,” reads the event recap sent out by the promotion.

The co-main event between Eduard Folayang and Amarsanaa Tsogookhuu ended in the second round due to an unintentional clash of heads. Folayang was announced as the winner by technical decision.

The rest of the card featured a series of MMA and Muay Thai bouts. Among the matchups, Sangmanee Sathian came out victorious by unanimous decision against Azize Hlali, and Stamp Fairtex scored a unanimous decision over Bi Nguyen.

The complete ONE Masters of Fate results can be found below.

ONE Masters of Fate: Pacio vs. Catalan results

Joshua Pacio def. Rene Catalan by submission (Arm Triangle Choke, R2 at 2:29)

Eduard Folayang def. Amarsanaa Tsogookhuu by technical decision

Sangmanee Sathian def. Azize Hlali by unanimous decision (R2)

Geje Eustaquio def. Toni Tauru by KO (R3 at 2:11)

Stamp Fairtex def. Bi Nguyen by unanimous decision

Li Kai Wen def. Paul Lumihi by KO (R1 at 2:39)

Yoshitaka Naito def. Pongsiri Mitsatit by unanimous decision

Kongsak PK.Saenchaimuaythaigym def. Han Zi Hao by unanimous decision

Robin Catalan def. Gustavo Balart by KO (R2 at 4:43)

Tukkatatong Petpayathai def. Hiroaki Suzuki by split decision

Kim Jae Woong def. Rafael Nunes by TKO (Strikes, R3 at 0:38)

Kim Kyu Sung def. Akihiro Fujisawa by KO (R1 at 1:08)

Roshan Mainam def. Khon Shichan by submission (Armlock, R1 at 3:22)