Jairzinho Rozenstruik knocks out Alistair Overeem at UFC on ESPN 7 in Washington, DC
UFC heavyweight Jairzinho Rozenstruik victorious | Pic: Facebook/jairzinho.rozenstruik

Alistair Overeem and Jairzinho Rozenstruik squared off in the main event of UFC on ESPN 7, held at Capital One Arena in Washington, D.C. on December 8 (AEDT).

The clash of heavyweights ended four seconds prior to the final bell. “The Demolition Man” seemed to be 4-0 ahead. In the final seconds of the last round “Bigi Boy” landed left uppercut followed by a powerful right hand, declaring his victory by knockout.

In addition, Rozenstruik remained undefeated updating his record to 10-0. Overeem, who also suffered a massive lip cut, dropped to 45-18, 1 NC.

The co-main event saw a three-round women’s MMA bout at catchweight between Marina Rodriguez and Cynthia Calvillo. The contest went a full distance and ended in majority draw.

Ben Rothwell was deducted a point in the second round of his heavyweight bout against Stefan Struve due to repeated groin strikes. Later in the same round he took the win via stoppage with punches.

Bantamweight bout between Cody Stamann and Song Yadong was declared a majority draw after three rounds. The latter was deducted a point in Round 1 due to illegal knee.

Among other bouts Aspen Ladd stopped Yana Kunitskaya in the third round of their women’s bantamweight encounter, and Rob Font scored a unanimous decision against Ricky Simon also at bantamweight. The complete UFC on ESPN 7 results can be found below.

UFC on ESPN: Overeem vs. Rozenstruik

Alistair Overeem vs. Jairzinho Rozenstruik

Marina Rodriguez vs. Cynthia Calvillo – majority draw (29-28, 28-28, 28-28).

Ben Rothwell def. Stefan Struve by TKO (punches, R2 at 4:57).

Aspen Ladd def. Yana Kunitskaya TKO (punches, R3 at 0:33).

Cody Stamann vs. Song Yadong – majority draw (29-27, 28-28, 28-28).

Rob Font def. Ricky Simon by unanimous decision (29-28 x2, 30-27).

Tim Means def. Thiago Alves by submission (guillotine choke, R1 at 2:38).

Billy Quarantillo def. Jacob Kilburn by submission (triangle choke, R2 at 3:18).

Bryce Mitchell def. Matt Sayles by submission (twister, R1 at 4:20).

Joe Solecki def. Matt Wiman by unanimous decision (30-26 x2, 30-27).

Virna Jandiroba def. Mallory Martin by submission (rear-naked choke, R2 at 1:16).

Makhmud Muradov def. Trevor Smith by KO (punch, R3 at 4:09).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here