Joe Smith Jr vs Steve Geffrard live stream, time, how to watch, results, full fight card

Smith vs Geffrard live from Verona, New York

Joe Smith Jr (27-3, 21 KOs) makes the first defense of his WBO light heavyweight title against Steve Geffrard (18-2, 12 KOs) live from Turning Stone Resort Casino in Verona, New York on Saturday, January 15. The pair squares off in the scheduled for twelve rounds bout headlining the Top Rank Boxing fight card. The date when the event airs live in the UK and Australia is Sunday, January 16.

Advertisements

In the co-main event Abraham Nova (20-0, 14 KOs) goes up against William Encarnacion (19-1, 15 KOs) in a ten-rounder at featherweight. Among the undercard bouts, Omar Rosario (5-0, 2 KOs) meets Raekwon Butler (4-1, 2 KOs) in a six-rounder at junior welterweight, Jahi Tucker (5-0, 3 KOs) faces Akeem Black (6-4, 1 KOs) in a six-rounder at welterweight, and Troy Isley (3-0, 2 KOs) battles it out against Harry Cruz (6-2, 2 KOs) in a six-rounder at middleweight. Kicking off the action Lyubomyr Pinchuk (13-2-2, 8 KOs) takes on Jose Mario Flores (8-2-2, 4 KOs) in an eight-rounder at cruiserweight.


How to watch Joe Smith Jr vs Steve Geffrard live stream

United States
Broadcast: ESPN+
Date: Saturday, January 15
Time: 10 pm ET / 7 pm PT
Prelims: 7:45 pm ET / 4:45 pm PT

United Kingdom
Broadcast: Sky Sports
Date: Sunday, January 16
Time: 3 am GMT

Australia
Broadcast: FITE TV
Date: Sunday, January 16
Time: 2 pm AEDT

Other countries
Broadcast: FITE TV
Date and time vary by location
Schedule available on the event broadcast page

Joe Smith Jr vs Steve Geffrard live from Verona, New York

Smith vs Geffrard results

  • Joe Smith Jr def. Steve Geffrard by KO (R9 at 0:37) | Watch highlights
  • Abraham Nova def. William Encarnacion by TKO (corner stoppage, R8 at 0:55) | Watch TKO
  • Omar Rosario def. Raekwon Butler by unanimous decision
  • Jahi Tucker def. Akeem Black by TKO (referee stoppage, R2 at 1:18) | Watch TKO
  • Troy Isley def. Harry Cruz by unanimous decision (59-53, 59-54, 59-54)
  • Lyubomyr Pinchuk def. Jose Mario Flores by unanimous decision (80-72, 79-73, 79-73)

Joe Smith Jr vs Steve Geffrard live blog

Advertisements

To refresh the feed click here.

12:18 am ET / 4:18 pm AEDT

That’s all for today. Until the next fight.

12:14 am ET / 4:14 pm AEDT

This is how Joe Smith Jr TKO’d Steve Geffrard.

11:55 pm ET / 3:55 pm AEDT

Joe Smith Jr stops Steve Geffrard in Round 9 to make the first successful defense of his WBO light heavyweight title.

11:28 pm ET / 3:28 pm AEDT

11:12 pm ET / 3:12 pm AEDT

Main Event: Joe Smith Jr defends his WBO light heavyweight title against Steve Geffrard. The world championship bout is scheduled for twelve rounds.

Joe Smith Jr vs Steve Geffrard
Joe Smith Jr vs Steve Geffrard | Mikey Williams/Top Rank via Getty Images

11:10 pm ET / 3:10 pm AEDT

Abraham Nova defeats William Encarnacion BY TKO in Round 8 (corner stoppage).

Advertisements

10:52 pm ET / 2:52 pm AEDT

Nova dominates Encarnacion.

10:43 pm ET / 2:43 pm AEDT

Joe Smith Jr warming up.

10:24 pm ET / 2:24 pm AEDT

Abraham Nova makes his ringwalk.

10:23 pm ET / 2:23 pm AEDT

Joe Smith Jr backstage.

10:06 pm ET / 2:06 pm AEDT

Co-main event: Abraham Nova up against William Encarnacion. The bout is scheduled for ten rounds at featherweight.

Abraham Nova vs William Encarnacion
Abraham Nova vs William Encarnacion | Mikey Williams/Top Rank via Getty Images

10:04 pm ET / 2:04 pm AEDT

Omar Rosario defeats Raekwon Butler by unanimous decision.

9:35 pm ET / 1:35 pm AEDT

Abraham Nova backstage.

9:18 pm ET / 1:18 pm AEDT

Rounding up the preliminary card Omar Rosario squares off against Raekwon Butler. The bout is scheduled for six rounds at junior welterweight.

Omar Rosario vs Raekwon Butler
Omar Rosario vs Raekwon Butler | Mikey Williams/Top Rank via Getty Images

9:16 pm ET / 1:16 pm AEDT

Jahi Tucker stops Akeem Black.

9:00 pm ET / 1:00 pm AEDT

Next: Jahi Tucker meets Akeem Black. The bout is scheduled for 6 rounds welterweight.

Jahi Tucker vs Akeem Black
Jahi Tucker vs Akeem Black | Mikey Williams/Top Rank via Getty Images

8:59 pm ET / 12:59 pm AEDT

Troy Isley defeats Harry Cruz by unanimous decision after six rounds at middleweight.

8:56 pm ET / 12:56 pm AEDT

8:41 pm ET / 12:41 pm AEDT

8:41 pm ET / 12:41 pm AEDT

Jahi Tucker warming up.

8:40 pm ET / 12:40 pm AEDT

8:36 pm ET / 12:36 pm AEDT

8:32 pm ET / 12:32 pm AEDT

Up next Troy Isley faces Harry Cruz. The bout is scheduled for six rounds at middleweight.

Troy Isley vs Harry Cruz
Troy Isley vs Harry Cruz | Mikey Williams/Top Rank via Getty Images

8:21 pm ET / 12:21 pm AEDT

The first fight goes the distance. Lyubomyr Pinchuk defeats Jose Mario Flore by unanimous decision after eight rounds.

8:19 pm ET / 12:19 pm AEDT

Troy Isley warming up.

8:17 pm ET / 12:17 pm AEDT

This is how Lyubomyr Pinchuk vs Jose Mario Flores unfolding.

7:40 pm ET / 11:40 am AEDT

Action begins in five minutes. First up Lyubomyr Pinchuk takes on Jose Mario Flores in an eight-rounder at cruiserweight.

Lyubomyr Pinchuk vs Jose Mario Flores
Lyubomyr Pinchuk vs Jose Mario Flores | Mikey Williams/Top Rank via Getty Images

6:24 pm ET / 10:24 am AEDT

Joe Smith vs Jr vs Steve Geffrard tale of the tape.

5:55 pm ET / 9:55 am AEDT

4:37 pm ET / 8:37 am AEDT

For those who haven’t seen – check out the full fight video featuring Joe Smith Jr in his previous bout last April when he took a majority decision against Maxim Vlasov to lift WBO light heavyweight title. Highlight clip is below.

3:48 pm ET / 7:48 am AEDT

Here is the six-fight bout sheet for tonight/today topped by Joe Smith Jr making a long awaited defense of his WBO light heavyweight title against Steve Geffrard.

Smith Jr vs Geffrard main card
Smith Jr vs Geffrard main card | Twitter/TRboxing
Smith Jr vs Geffrard undercard

3:32 pm ET / 7:32 am AEDT

Kicking off live blog. In case you missed it, check out below the final Smith vs Geffrard faceoff at the official weigh-in ceremony conducted yesterday.


Smith vs Geffrard fight card

The full Smith vs Geffrard fight card comprises six bouts in total. The two-fight main card follows four preliminary bouts.

The lineup looks as the following:

Main Card

  • Joe Smith Jr vs. Steve Geffrard, 12 rounds, light heavyweight – Smith Jr’s WBO light heavyweight title
  • Abraham Nova vs. William Encarnacion, 10 rounds, featherweight

Undercard

  • Omar Rosario vs. Raekwon Butler, 6 rounds, junior welterweight
  • Jahi Tucker vs. Akeem Black, 6 rounds, welterweight
  • Troy Isley vs. Harry Cruz, 6 rounds, middleweight
  • Lyubomyr Pinchuk vs. Jose Mario Flores, 8 rounds, cruiserweight
Advertisements

Links to streaming or pay-per-view platforms provided on this page, if any, are affiliate links. We will be paid a commission, with no extra cost to you, if you use those links to make a purchase.

Share This

Want to Support?

You can support FIGHTMAG with a contribution of any size. Thank you.

Related

Cold Company

Sign up for FIGHTMAG Weekly Newsletter

Top stories delivered to your inbox

Stream boxing live on DAZN